Will a gigabyte Radeon 9250 work with agp 4x?

Peripherals, parts, data storage...
Post Reply
Jordan
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:15 pm
Location: North Vancouver, BC

Will a gigabyte Radeon 9250 work with agp 4x?

Post by Jordan » Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:02 pm

I think the answer is yes. Having checked the ATI website they say the 92xx line of cards are AGP 4/8x, but the Gigabyte website says nothing other than AGP 8x support. I presume it will work (in an AGP 4x system) but i need somebody else's opinion.

Otherwise I'm gonna buy a Sapphire Radeon 9200SE for $10 less which clearly says AGP4x compatible...

here are the URL's i've been looking at for the cards:

Gigabyte 9250: http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/VGA/P ... -R925128DE

ATI's 9200 series spec sheet: http://www.ati.com/products/radeon9200/ ... specs.html

Sapphire Radeon 9200SE specs: http://www.sapphiretech.com/en/productf ... ochure.pdf

The system is a compaq deskpro P800, intel 815 chipset, AGP 2/4x slot.
I'm sure the 9250 will work fine, anybody think differently?
The collector of the old and unwanted.

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Mon Mar 20, 2006 2:23 am

I think it will work fine, underclocked.
mind, I can underclock my AGP access with my 8x card if I wanted to. But I wouldn't.

It'll run as fast as it can, that is 4x
just be sure to check the specs on voltage requirements between your card and your mobo.
though I think that horrible caveat was more important back in AGP 1x card days with 4x slots.
bp6's 3 x dual @ 533
. . . . 1 x dual @ 466
. . . . 1 sngl @ 400
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.4ghz )]
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.66ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4C ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4B ghz )]
[( 1 x dual AMD 1800MP )]
[( 1 x P4 1600 )]
[( 1 x 500 ppga )]
3 x piii 866

Jordan
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:15 pm
Location: North Vancouver, BC

Post by Jordan » Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:56 pm

I just found out there's an nVIDIA FX 5200 for a few bucks more so i'm going for it. I found spec sheets for all those cards that say 4X will work.
Yay I'm gonna have good graphics (well, better)!
The collector of the old and unwanted.

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:55 am

the FX 5200 is quite alright as a vga card
and if it's for your BP6, I think you'll run out of cpu to run the game before you run out of VGA capability.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest