hpt366 speed , bootable , alternatives

Peripherals, parts, data storage...
Post Reply
FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

hpt366 speed , bootable , alternatives

Post by FloW » Sat Dec 25, 2004 10:19 am

how fast can the hpt366 controller get?
i need a faster way to use my hdd speed. actually my hdd is on ide0,
i cant use ide 2-3 and i cant boot with them.
do i need a ultra 133 bootable pci controller?

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Sat Dec 25, 2004 7:16 pm

everyone will say don't use the highpoint.
get a cheap adaptec or similar alternative.

"I" will say, use an old drive on the ide0 for your OS
and put your fast drive on the pci card you get
keeps your data away from your flaky OS drive that always seems to break at the most in-opportune moments causing much pain and grief.

FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

Post by FloW » Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:57 pm

is it possbile to boot from a pci card ?

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:15 pm

Yes, I do just that.

Set the boot device in the BIOS to EXT SCSI and you're good to go.

NB This applies to IDE controllers as well as SCSI.
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

Post by FloW » Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:17 am

is it better to run a scsi hd as system hd and a 120gb ide as storage hd?
issues are speed and data access

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:14 pm

FloW wrote:is it better to run a scsi hd as system hd and a 120gb ide as storage hd?
issues are speed and data access
That's how I prefer to do it.
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

hugoc
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by hugoc » Wed Dec 29, 2004 12:33 pm

What are you doing that makes speed such an issue you're considering SCSI? For desktop use, SCSI is a waste. Heck, anything faster than ATA66 is a waste - most ATA drives can't top 60MB/sec, especially sustained, which means that SATA, ATA133 and SCSI are really suitable for multiple-drive arrays. Anandtech did a test recently and found that, on a typical desktop, RAID makes absolutely no performance difference.

SCSI also offers things like command queueing and other smart technologies, but this is really only useful if your drive (not your system) is heavily multitasking, say, for a database server or something.

If system responsiveness is your goal I would leave SCSI and newer ATA technologies alone and buy some more RAM with the money you saved.

But I would like to know what your typical computing demands are.
BP6, RU BIOS, 2*Celeron 366@550 1.9v
2*GlobalWin FEP32, 512MB PC100 CAS2
GeForce DDR, CMI8738 audio, Accton SMC2-1211TX NIC
Ubuntu Linux, Kernel 2.6.8.1-4-686-smp

FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

Post by FloW » Sun Jan 09, 2005 9:20 pm

Processors 2
Model Celeron (Mendocino)
Chip MHz 534.66 MHz
Cache Size 128 KB
System Bogomips 2117.63
PCI Devices 0000:00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE
0000:00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV4 [RIVA TNT]
0000:00:11.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
0000:00:13.0 Unknown mass storage controller: Triones Technologies, Inc. HPT366/368/370/370A/372
0000:00:13.1 Unknown mass storage controller: Triones Technologies, Inc. HPT366/368/370/370A/372
IDE Devices hda: WDC WD1200BB-00CAA1 (Capacity: 111.79 GB)
USB Devices Linux 2.6.9-gentoo-r4 uhci_hcd Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB 0000:00:07.2

FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

Post by FloW » Sun Jan 09, 2005 9:25 pm

Processors 2
Model Celeron (Mendocino)
Chip MHz 534.66 MHz
Cache Size 128 KB
System Bogomips 2117.63
PCI Devices 0000:00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE
0000:00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV4 [RIVA TNT]
0000:00:11.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
0000:00:13.0 Unknown mass storage controller: Triones Technologies, Inc. HPT366/368/370/370A/372
0000:00:13.1 Unknown mass storage controller: Triones Technologies, Inc. HPT366/368/370/370A/372
IDE Devices hda: WDC WD1200BB-00CAA1 (Capacity: 111.79 GB)
USB Devices Linux 2.6.9-gentoo-r4 uhci_hcd Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB 0000:00:07.2

FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

Post by FloW » Sun Jan 09, 2005 9:32 pm

sorry for the double post,
the pc will work as a router.
so i need a quick and long-living hd.
please delete the double post. thx.

wickie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 5:03 pm
Location: Austria

Post by wickie » Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:15 pm

If you want to boot from HPT366 you must also use the BIOS option EXT-SCSI.

You need a fast harddisk for a router, i think this is done in memory and there is no need for a fast harddisk.

If you want to build a file server, disk speed is an issue.

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Wed Jan 12, 2005 3:31 am

if you need a router, forget speed and large fast hard drives.

get an old Pii 350 and an old 6gb hdd and use smoothwall or similar
you use a new drive, they die.
get an old one that is alive, t will generally stay alive

FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

Post by FloW » Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:24 am

i've got some problems to boot from my scsi drive , ext and scsi is set in bios . but it doesnt boot from it. i have an adaptec 2940 u/uw controller.

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:24 pm

FloW wrote:i've got some problems to boot from my scsi drive , ext and scsi is set in bios . but it doesnt boot from it. i have an adaptec 2940 u/uw controller.
When your system boots up, do you see the Adaptec BIOS after the processor/memory and before HPT366 BIOS?
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

FloW
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: laptop.lan
Contact:

Post by FloW » Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:46 am

thx, now it boots from the scsi controller. i dont know why it didnt work the first time. but now i have a problem with my kernel and the boot partition. i hope i can fix it. soon i will post some pics of my 2 80mm fans on top of my cpus :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Atropos
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 7:14 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

How did you manage booting from SCSI?

Post by Atropos » Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:06 am

Hi FloW,

how did you get your system booting from SCSI?

My system does not boot from SCSI.
There are 3 HDD connected to the controler. (See my sig.)

After the HPT366 boot screen (btw. does anyone know how to
disable the HPT? My other box is a Abit BE6II. The bios of the BE6II
gives you the option to disable HPT completely.) there's NO SCSI
adapter boot screen.
Maybe there's something wrong with the IDs or termination?
I boot off an old 214MB IDE disk. The SCSI stuff is accessible
when OS are running. But not for boot :-(

I'll try to fix this the next weekend.

Atropos

ps.: BIOS settings are OK for EXT, EXT-SCSI so there should be no
problem. The SCSI controler is tested in another box. Booting was
OK in this box .... :-?
Specs:
BP6 dual Celeron 433 MHz
Viper V330 graphics
256 MB
3 SCSI2 HDD (1GB, 2GB, 4GB)
W2K / SuSE 9.0 / Zeta RC4 Neo
Note: No scissors any more ;-)

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Re: How did you manage booting from SCSI?

Post by hyperspace » Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:14 pm

Atropos wrote:... My system does not boot from SCSI.
There are 3 HDD connected to the controler. (See my sig.)...
Which PCI slot are you using?
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

Atropos
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 7:14 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Post by Atropos » Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:35 am

@hyperspace

The SCSI controler is placed in PCI slot 2.
I thought slot 2 would be a good place because it's
the only slot that does not have to share an IRQ.

Atropos
Specs:
BP6 dual Celeron 433 MHz
Viper V330 graphics
256 MB
3 SCSI2 HDD (1GB, 2GB, 4GB)
W2K / SuSE 9.0 / Zeta RC4 Neo
Note: No scissors any more ;-)

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:16 pm

That should work. Have you tried Slot 4 or 5? I have used these slots without any problems. If I have my SCSI card in one of these slots, the other is not used (ie., SCSI in 5 and nothing in 4 or visa-versa).
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest