What Video card are you using?

Peripherals, parts, data storage...
onelegdis
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2002 6:52 pm
Location: London UK

Post by onelegdis » Tue Jun 24, 2003 7:44 am

The list so far;

Asus V6800 Geforce256 DDR Deluxe
Asus V8420 GF4 4200 64mb

ATI 3d rage pro 8mb
ATi Xpert 2000
ATi Rage128 AGP
ATi Radeon 7000
ATi 8500LE 64MB
ATi 8500LE (Retail)
ATi Radeon 8500LE (OEM)
ATi Radeon All In Wonder 32MB

Creative Voodoo Banshee 16meg AGP

Creative banshee (3dfx) 16MB
Creative Riva TNT2Ultra AGP 32MB
Creative TnT2 Ultra 32meg
Creative GeForce2 Ultra 64meg
Creative GeForce2 MX200 32meg

Chaintech GF3 500ti

Diamond 3D 2000 Pro
Diamond Viper V770 32MB
Diamond Viper V770 Ultra 32MB

eVGA e-Geforce4 440MX 64MB DDR AGP 4X/2X

Geforce2 MX400 64MB
Geforce2 MX200 64MB
Geforce2 Personal Cinema 64MB
Geforce2 MX400 AGP

Hercules Voodoo Rush 6meg
Hercules GF2 GTS 32Meg
Hercules 3D Prophet Geforce2 MX
Hercules 3D Prophet 4500

LeadTek Winfast GeForce 256 SDR 32MB
LeadTek Winfast Geforce2 MX 400 32MB

Matrox G100 8MB AGP
Matrox G400 16 MB SH AGP
Matrox G450 16 MB DH AGP
Matrox Millennium G400 32MB DualHead AGP

MSI Geforce4 TI4400VIVO

Palit GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128 meg

PNY Gefore2 200MX 32mb pci

S3 Trio 3D2X
S3 Savage4

Sapphire Radeon 9000 Atlantis pro 128MB

TNT2-Ultra 32MB

Voodoo 3 AGP
Voodoo 3 2000 PCI 16meg (3DFX)
Voodoo Rush 8meg (SIIG)
Voodoo 5 agp
Voodoo 5 pci
Voodoo 3 3000 pci

3DFX Voodoo3 3500

:right:

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Sun Jul 06, 2003 7:38 pm

BP6 one Celeron2/1100->Geforce MX200/64MB- replaced my TNT2-Ultra.
My dedicated PC for CyberGenie Phone system w/voice dialing via PC
Mounted a big Zalman passive HS on GPU.

MSI9105 Dual Tualatin->Cardex Geforce FX5900 - heavy use gaming PC
the best dual P-III mainboard ever - why can't I find another one?

#1-ACORP 9A815EPD Dual P3/1100->ABIT Siluro Geforce FX5200 DX9
-added copper active cooling as ABIT passive HS ran too hot

#2-ACORP 9A815EPD Dual P3/1100->ATI 9800 All-in-Wonder Pro
MY VIDEO NIGHTMARE PC!!!
-ATI & DX9 drivers still not loading on boot; runs hot with too small fan

;
Last edited by RRLedford on Sun Oct 17, 2004 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PDR60
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2002 11:08 pm
Location: Oakland TN
Contact:

Post by PDR60 » Sun Nov 16, 2003 11:32 am

Well lets see. I have one Bp running with an old Compaq 4MB card. Its a Cirus logic chip set I think. It doesn't really matter because its my Apache web server anyway. The other BP has run:

STB Velocity 4400
Geforce
Geforce 2TI 64meg
Geforce 5600 256Meg
and its now on a Voodoo 3000

Its never had any issues with Video at all

the_flames
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Post by the_flames » Sun Nov 16, 2003 12:01 pm

Ive used my PCI voodoo 3 3000 16MB on my bp6 before I donated it to my sisters pc

I'm currently using a Geforce 2 mx/mx 400 AGP 64 mb on agp1 mode

jaybird
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 9:21 pm

G400 Max

Post by jaybird » Mon Nov 17, 2003 12:08 pm

I have been using a Matrox G400 MAX, 32 meg, dual head for over four years (AGP) and no problems. Over clocks well at 110 Mhz.

locomo10
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 9:43 am
Location: Memphis

What about stability?

Post by locomo10 » Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:28 pm

I was using the original GeForce 256 SDR for almost 4 years with no problems until it died. Now I have a Sapphire Radeon 9000 and it reboots about once a day (I changed videos bio cacheable, etc. in BP6 bios, any other suggestions?). ATI might be the best now but for a 2 cpu system, I think I might be going back to Nvidea.
lo

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: What about stability?

Post by Derek » Fri Nov 28, 2003 3:28 pm

locomo10 wrote:I was using the original GeForce 256 SDR for almost 4 years with no problems until it died. Now I have a Sapphire Radeon 9000 and it reboots about once a day (I changed videos bio cacheable, etc. in BP6 bios, any other suggestions?). ATI might be the best now but for a 2 cpu system, I think I might be going back to Nvidea.
lo
How large is your power supply?

locomo10
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 9:43 am
Location: Memphis

ATI on BP6

Post by locomo10 » Thu Jan 15, 2004 7:54 pm

Derek,
Sorry to take so long to get back.
I only have a 300 watt PS but is a PC Power and Cooling.
I went back to Nvidea,but got a MX440.
No problems with BP6 stability, but it was as slow as my old GeForce1 SDR.
Turns out it had only SDR ram. (Do they still make this stuff?)
Anyway I got a AIW 8500 DV (the $57 deal at Office Depot) and again, I'm getting all kind of problems. I'm reinstalling windows xp as we speak.

loco

eljar
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 3:25 pm

The GFX Cards

Post by eljar » Wed Mar 24, 2004 1:28 pm

I have been using a G200 and two Voodoo2 in SLI mode for ages.
Recently I swapped them for a PoV Geforce ti4200xp 128 MB and
started expiriencing problems. First of all my HPT bios wouldn't load.
I fixed it by changing some bios settings.

Then the computer hanged when starting KDE (at init video devices)
or when starting a 3D-app (e.g. tuxracer) form any WM.
A week later I installed more memory (having 256 MB in bank 0 and
128 MB in bank 1 and 2, total 512MB), replacing my two 128 MB
sdrams with a couple of 256 MB sdrams.

After switching the memory everything seems fine. Don't know
why either. I use the ram I took out in another computer and it
doesn't appear to be faulty.
-eljar

nullshark
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:14 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

Post by nullshark » Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:56 pm

I have an ATI 8500LE (Retail) in the AGP slot and a Voodoo3 3500 in PCI 2. Neither are overclocked. They run fine. I also had a Diamond Stealth 3D 2000 for a total of 3 vid cards up until about 3 months ago, when it wouldn't initialize for some reason. I'm now "making do" with two monitors :P
On a torpedo to Hell
ASRock 939 Dual Sata II mobo--2x 2200+--2GB RAM--ATI x800XL--2x Seagate Cheetah 15K.3s on LSI 20160 HBA--WD 400GB Caviar RE2, Maxtor 300GB, 3x Maxtor 120+ GB = 1.1TB storage--Sony Dru-820A DVDRW--Diamond Xtreme 7.1 sound--Win XP

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Sat Mar 27, 2004 12:05 pm

onlegdis...


dude.. you have ALL of those video cards in use? or just laying around?

i am currently using a Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 :)
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sat Mar 27, 2004 2:36 pm

duuh,
he said "listed so far"

hehehe hahaha hohoho

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Sat Mar 27, 2004 4:39 pm

davd_bob wrote:duuh,
he said "listed so far"

hehehe hahaha hohoho
LOL!
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

naro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 10:30 pm
Location: Singapore (London-bound in Oct 04)

Post by naro » Mon May 03, 2004 2:03 am

i used a SiS6326 8mb AGP2X card on my BP6 before..

now, i'm using an ATI Radeon 7000(VE) 32mb SD-Ram on my BP6
Image

BCN
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:50 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by BCN » Mon May 03, 2004 8:09 am

I am using Saphire 9800Pro 256mb (4 chips on each side) on my P4

and GF4Ti4200-8X 128mb on BP6, which is doing just fine :)
Dual C366@550MHz 1.90V :) (History)
yet single PIII-S 512Kb L2 cache at 1400MHz@700MHz
BP6 (not modded yet)
256MB PC133 C2
GF4Ti4200-8x
Maxtor 2x60Gb - all on promise ATA133
Lite-On LTR 40125S@48125W!!!
Plus P4 system

hugoc
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by hugoc » Mon May 03, 2004 10:05 am

I got a Creative Annihilator Pro retail boxed set (GeForce DDR) when it was first released. I'd actually bought a TNT2 about 6 months before, but the fan had started to whine, so I returned it as faulty, got my full refund and put it towards the GeForce. I'm not exactly sure when that was but it's been well over 4 years.

The only hiccup I had was when the gfx got really intensive (Serious Sam II in the big outdoor levels was good for this), the card would get jerky and then shut down. I pulled off the cruddy little HSF that Creative used, cleaned off the superglue (yes, superglue, as in Crazy Glue, believe it or not), put some decent thermal paste on there, a 40*40mm heatsink that used to passively cool a TNT2 and topped it off with a 486 fan. Ever since I did that, it's been rock-solid stable, although I can't use my 1st PCI slot anymore.
BP6, RU BIOS, 2*Celeron 366@550 1.9v
2*GlobalWin FEP32, 512MB PC100 CAS2
GeForce DDR, CMI8738 audio, Accton SMC2-1211TX NIC
Ubuntu Linux, Kernel 2.6.8.1-4-686-smp

dass
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:04 am

how it is possible to run agpX8 card on agpx2 board???

Post by dass » Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:51 pm

Tell me guys how come you run those geforces 4 and 5 and radeon 9800 on bp6? Being agpx8 cards they use 1.5V and should got fried by bp6's 3,3V agp port... or I'm getting something wrong...

I'm quite puzzled. I was thinking about replacing my old geforce 256 either for radeon 8500 or geforce3 ti500 but now I just don't know what to do.

Anyway, what card would you recommend for 3d modeling, animation and rendering and for Flash cartooning?

dass
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:04 am

Post by dass » Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:56 pm

I'm sorry nobody listed radeon 9800 under bp6. But Geforce4 and GeforceFx were listed several times. You just plugged those cards, gave them go, and they run like that or you did some mods?

purrkur
Linux Guru
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: how it is possible to run agpX8 card on agpx2 board???

Post by purrkur » Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:17 am

dass wrote:Anyway, what card would you recommend for 3d modeling, animation and rendering and for Flash cartooning?
Not the BP6 unless you got a lot of time on your hands :)
2x533MHz@544MHz, 2.0V
640MB PC100 memory
Realtek RTL-8139 NIC
Maxtor 6Y080L0 80GB hdd
Debian Linux stable with 2.4.8 kernel

dass
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:04 am

Post by dass » Fri Dec 10, 2004 3:01 pm

Not the BP6 unless you got a lot of time on your hands
Hehe. yes, rendering take ages but I'm still building my portfolio and can wait. I just want some, at least, semi-decent card to handle modeling and animation in something more like real time manner then my old Geforce256 :)

I wonder if Flash uses hardware accelerating. I guess not, shame.

BCN
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:50 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by BCN » Sat Dec 11, 2004 10:04 am

dass wrote:I'm sorry nobody listed radeon 9800 under bp6. But Geforce4 and GeforceFx were listed several times. You just plugged those cards, gave them go, and they run like that or you did some mods?
no mods.

I tried sticking 9800 into BP6, but could not because the AGP port has one piece of plastic in the middle, and radeon does not have a space there, but it would go, just ok, if you would rip that piece of plastic intersection out. it is 8X as GF4 with 8X SAGP, so there will be no problem.
Dual C366@550MHz 1.90V :) (History)
yet single PIII-S 512Kb L2 cache at 1400MHz@700MHz
BP6 (not modded yet)
256MB PC133 C2
GF4Ti4200-8x
Maxtor 2x60Gb - all on promise ATA133
Lite-On LTR 40125S@48125W!!!
Plus P4 system

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sun Dec 12, 2004 11:47 am

BCN wrote:I tried sticking 9800 into BP6, but could not because the AGP port has one piece of plastic in the middle, and radeon does not have a space there, but it would go, just ok, if you would rip that piece of plastic intersection out. it is 8X as GF4 with 8X SAGP, so there will be no problem.
That piece of plastic is important. It is the "key" which stops the incorrect types of card from being plugged into a particular motherboard.

See this article for more information about keys and AGP compatibility.
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

Tim_K
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 1:44 am
Location: Southwest PA
Contact:

Post by Tim_K » Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:01 am

Here's a new (old actually) one that isn't on the list yet - a Visiontek NVD01.0 16 MB video card. I got one at a computer show recently. It plugged in and worked easily with Windows 2000 and drivers I downloaded from the internet.

I haven't tried to play any high bit rate high motion videos yet, but I will soon, and see how it goes.
See "Online Video" the internets comedy / opinion webshow, at www.loudmouthtim.com !

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:55 pm

My LapTop has an ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 with 64megs of RAM. I'm using hacked Omega drivers with Radlinker to give the card some extra functionality and (you guessed it) an overclocking tool!

Whoohoo!
-Derek

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest