Can't get ACPI Multiprocessor PC to work with Win2k.

OS / Drivers / BIOS
Post Reply
Wolfram
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 3:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Wolfram » Sun Oct 27, 2002 6:56 am

If your system runs fine without ACPI, I would leave it as it is. If it does not, ACPI might help with IRQ or DMA problems.

You would have to install Win2K from scratch if you wanted to use ACPI.

Aside from that, an ATX system should shut down via software regardless of ACPI enabled or not.

Regards,

Wolfram
BP6, RU BIOS, XP SP3, ACPI, 2x366@523(1,95V), Pentalpha HS + 1x 12cm fan @5V, 768MB, Powercolor Geforce 3, RTL8139D NIC, Terratec EWS64L, Samsung M40 80GB (2,5''), LiteOn CDRW

pbulley
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 1:55 pm

Windows 2000 ans ACPI

Post by pbulley » Sat Nov 02, 2002 2:04 pm

I have a BP6 with 2x Cel400 not overclocked, the RU BIOS with HOT366 1.25 BIOS. The system will not find find a drive attached to the HPT366 if ACPI in enabled, but is OK id ACPI is disabled. I am therfore not using ACPI, and the system does not shutdown on its own, but I don 't shut it down anyway. I am interested because I have setthe BIOS as per this site's advice on installing Win2k with the RU BIOS. i.e. to ENABLE ACPI. I am wondering it it is the HPT Controller. Do the HPT366-less BIOSs work? I have acquired a HPT370 RAID card and might use that instead, is I can disable the HPT366.

Wolfram
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 3:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Wolfram » Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:27 am

I haven´t tried the HPT366-less BIOSes yet, because I have a HD that would not be found on the standard IDE controller(!). But IIRC these BIOSes do not get rid of the controller completely, it still shows up in the windows device manager.

I would try to disable the HPT366 in the standard BIOS and install the HPT370, which is said to be better. The HPT366 is said to cause data corruption in some cases. I haven´t experienced that myself and all my PCI slots are already in use. But if I would´t have to reconfigure the whole PC, I would give it a try.

Regards,

Wolfram
BP6, RU BIOS, XP SP3, ACPI, 2x366@523(1,95V), Pentalpha HS + 1x 12cm fan @5V, 768MB, Powercolor Geforce 3, RTL8139D NIC, Terratec EWS64L, Samsung M40 80GB (2,5''), LiteOn CDRW

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest