Bp6 433@507

Batch codes, RAM specs, BIOS settings, etc..
tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Bp6 433@507

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:37 pm

MOBO- ABit BP6
Processors- 433@507 {78.00mhz 1.90v core}
PSU- ANTEC 500watt
Video- NVidia GeForce4 MX4000
Video Cooling- TermalTake Dual Heatpipe
Sound- Soundblaster Audigy
Storage- Maxtor 80GB {IDE1 Master}
Maxtor 200GB {IDE1 Slave}
WD 30GB {IDE3}
HP DVD 840b {IDE 2 Master}
Sony CRX220E1 {IDE 2 Slave}
Case Cooling- Two Case Fans, Blow Hole.


the rig becomes unstable after 507 {78.00}
Would add pic but no cam to take with. :evil:

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:01 am

bump up the core voltage
I can run at normal FSB with only 1.85v, but only just
if you want to clock it up a bit, you will need more voltage to get the signals through
2.05 or 2.10 at least

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:26 am

i tried that but it still get unstable at higher speeds.

before oc i was runing 2.00v

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am

ok now im up to 433@533 82.00mhz core at 2.00v

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:47 am

you mention case cooling

what's the cpu coolers ?
stock, or pretty with big noisy fans ....
and did you clean them off and grease them up before clocking ....
bp6's 3 x dual @ 533
. . . . 1 x dual @ 466
. . . . 1 sngl @ 400
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.4ghz )]
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.66ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4C ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4B ghz )]
[( 1 x dual AMD 1800MP )]
[( 1 x P4 1600 )]
[( 1 x 500 ppga )]
3 x piii 866

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 6:08 am

dont know who makes them but big and nosiey. i think one has no grease on it, runs warmer than the other {not hot wont let it} so im gonna get some tremal paste to help it out.

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:51 pm

new termal grease helped the temps a good deal. now they both run the same temp {+-1c}.

while i had the case open i went ahead and greased the greenie {now that i know what it is}.

KliK
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Post by KliK » Fri Oct 20, 2006 2:23 am

tenchimuyo93 wrote:new termal grease helped the temps a good deal. now they both run the same temp {+-1c}.

while i had the case open i went ahead and greased the greenie {now that i know what it is}.
nice...I posted a topic about the temps of the CPUs & FSB chipset here, so you can add your experiance with temps there...
be shure to add if you crunch sthg or not!!

the idea is to find out what is the normal operating temperatures of the CPUs and more important the FSB chipset...

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:16 pm

nothing more to the over clock, but i lapped the processors, and added active cooling to the "Greenie" {used a blower fan from my video cooler that i never turned on} ill take some pics of it later.

this is what the blower fan looks like
Image

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:28 am

ok just got a stable OC of 558MHz at 86fsb {2.10v}. im guessing it just want to get used to the speed slowly????????.

got a veiw of my case and ill post the board pics tomorrow.
Image

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:49 pm

tenchimuyo93 wrote:ok just got a stable OC of 558MHz at 86fsb {2.10v}. im guessing it just want to get used to the speed slowly????????.

got a veiw of my case and ill post the board pics tomorrow.
There are those that believe in "burn in" of processors. That is what you are implying. There are others that say there is no such thing.

I personally think you hit the nail on the head.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:07 pm

i didnt belive the burnin either but its what im seeing.

i also did some searching for some cpu heatsinks and found out im running the the globalwins.

jaybird
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 9:21 pm

Post by jaybird » Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:04 pm

If you want the best coolers on the market get Whisper's, see my photo gallary on this website.

P.S. they also look slick as s--t ! :), and, if you what the ultimate add 80mm Delta's but look out, 747 commin through the room!

I posted my lowest aircooling temps with these, even better than the GlobalWIN FEP32's with the 80mm Delta's and, they were dirt cheap when I bought them a few months back.

Running dual 366's air cooled @ 110 fsb (605mhz), rock stable @ 594mhz.

Regards,

jaybird

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:40 pm

jaybird wrote:If you want the best coolers on the market get Whisper's, see my photo gallary on this website.

P.S. they also look slick as s--t !
I need to pick up some new coolers :)
-Derek

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Thu Dec 14, 2006 6:39 am

got a problem i just noticed and was wondering if flashing the bios would help {ive asked how in another thread but im still scared of making a paperweight so i havent} but the bios only shows a speed of 550MHz max but windows and the BP6fsb program show what i have them clocked to.
had to bring the OC back down to 552MHz [85fsb] got unstable once and didnt wanna risk it.
or im a cool with what i got {its a RU bios with the hpt 1.22?}
Image

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:48 am

that's ok
windows showing 575 ?

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:42 pm

it was when i had 575 no im back down to 552 due to 1 case of not being stable.
Image

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:22 am

tenchimuyo93 wrote:got a problem i just noticed and was wondering if flashing the bios would help {ive asked how in another thread but im still scared of making a paperweight so i havent} but the bios only shows a speed of 550MHz max but windows and the BP6fsb program show what i have them clocked to.
had to bring the OC back down to 552MHz [85fsb] got unstable once and didnt wanna risk it.
or im a cool with what i got {its a RU bios with the hpt 1.22?}
OK, I wasn't paying attention earlier. Don't flash the BIOS if everything is working but the POST reported speed.

Now this. I hope it isn't too confusing. Take your time with this info until you understand whats happening as you try it. Then you will be a genius like me. :D

As you know Mendocino Celerons are designed for 66FSB. Its been discovered though that most will run fster then 66 to above 530MHz or higher but hit a wall somewhere below 600MHz, no matter what they are "rated" for.

The 440BX on the BP6 bios gives lots of FSB options that are really nice. Remember the divider points change at 92 and 124.

The AGP, PCI and IDE are running at stock speed at 66(divided by 2=33) and at 100(divided by 3=33.3).

Divider 2:
66-91
FSB at 67-91 increases the OC pressure of everything else on the board. Note that lots of hard drives get flaky above 80 and who knows how much OC your PCI cards can handle. I bet something else was the choke point that got unstable...not the CPUs.

Divider 3:
92-123 (BP6 has no settings between 110 and 124)
FSB at 92-98 UNDERCOCKS everything else but keeps OC on the cellys and the ram. You will see a lot of sucess stories at 92FSB but none that I know of at 91 because the divider changes.

Divider 4:
124 & 133 (only 2 settings)
You won't get there so its irrelavant. I am not aware of anyone who was ever able to run at 124.

Why don't you try 92FSB and see what happens. It will underclock all the PCI/AGP/IDE componants, and be in the easy range of the BX and your PC150 ram. The CPUs however will be cooking hard at nearly 600 so you will probably have to boost the voltage to 2.2. Try it once and see if it will even POST up. If so let it try boot. If the boot fails it will be the fault of the CPUs for sure. If it is sucessful you may be able to drop the voltage on the CPUs.

FWIW, I use factory Global Win HSFs. I lapped mine smooth(they are grooved from the factory) and lapped 366s until mostly copper instead of silver showing. Now they run at 550 on 1.85V(unstable) and stable at 1.90V. I once pushed a pair of 500s to 2.2V without damage just through booting then shutdown again, but I would never leave them that hot for running.

Good luck.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:59 pm

davd_bob wrote: Divider 4:
124 & 133 (only 2 settings)
You won't get there so its irrelavant. I am not aware of anyone who was ever able to run at 124.
Back in the day, Holodeck2 got his 366s running at 133Mhz FSB using watercooling, peltiers and a lot of ducting. He hasn't been around here for some time.
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:32 am

im gonna try 92fsb next time i shutdown.

lapped and artic silvered cpus.
artic silvered and blower fan {8k rpm cant remember cfm} on Greenie.
Image

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:10 pm

tenchimuyo93,
How the heck did you come up w/that handle?
Preformance at 92FSB depends what you are doing with the board. If cpu intensive you will be happy. If file serving or whatever you wont. Anyway, let us know.

X-man,
Thanks for the reminder. I forget about the BP6 OC king, Holodeck2 because it was on the old board and before I joined. He really pushed the BP6 with its native processors as far as either can go. dual 366@733*awe* in a time when processors were still below 2gHz.

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:56 pm

dont remember how i came up with tenchimuyo93 but have been using it for years now.

as for the 92fsb it will be cpu intensive so if it works i should be happy.
Image

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:15 am

well 92-95fsb with 2.20v didnt work, but while i was cleaning the fans on my system i noticed that a few of the caps around the cpus were showing their age. so i have a complete set coming UPS from Korea. as soon as they get here im also gonna go ahead and replace the voltage regulator {brother-in-law works at local radio shack so im golden there}.



after all that ill shot for 92fsb again.

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:20 am

tenchimuyo93,
any updates yet?
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:05 pm

still waiting on the caps to get here, other than that still running the same.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests