chance of getting 2x366Mhz Celerons to work @550Mhz

Batch codes, RAM specs, BIOS settings, etc..
Post Reply
Thrakath
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:52 pm
Contact:

chance of getting 2x366Mhz Celerons to work @550Mhz

Post by Thrakath » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:35 pm

Hi! Just got two 500Mhz Cellis working together (now) in my recapped and ec10 modded ver 1.0 bp6 board.
How big is the chance of buying two 366Mhz celerons on ebay and letting them work at 550 and 100Mhz FSB?
the 500 ones dont overclock to 750mhz. that would have been a big surprise ;-). i dont like to raise pci and agp bus...had bad experiences in my pc life...

thx Tobi

Billl
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: USA

Re: chance of getting 2x366Mhz Celerons to work @550Mhz

Post by Billl » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:15 pm

Thrakath wrote:Hi! Just got two 500Mhz Cellis working together (now) in my recapped and ec10 modded ver 1.0 bp6 board.
How big is the chance of buying two 366Mhz celerons on ebay and letting them work at 550 and 100Mhz FSB?
the 500 ones dont overclock to 750mhz. that would have been a big surprise ;-). i dont like to raise pci and agp bus...had bad experiences in my pc life...

thx Tobi
Your chances should be pretty good. the 366's in general OC quite well. Of course it's never a sure thing. Each CPU is different and a few just won't make it.

Billl
Image

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Tue Feb 28, 2006 8:32 pm

yup. Exceletn chance. Make sure you put greese under the "greenie and a fan on top of it.

Also make sure you are using PC-100 or PC-133 ram. You may need to start at 2.1 volts on the cpus but avter a few hours you can probably drop that back. Many of us are running dual 366@550 at 1.9v or less.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

purrkur
Linux Guru
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by purrkur » Wed Mar 01, 2006 2:47 am

But don't be too sure though. My current BP6 won't do my 366's at 550, but they are stable at 523MHz (95MHz fsb). I know that other members here have seen the exact same thing. 523MHz is pretty good though. I have made some tests to see how they compare. The problem here seems to be my board and not my CPU's. I did once have them running at 550MHz on another BP6 without issues.
2x533MHz@544MHz, 2.0V
640MB PC100 memory
Realtek RTL-8139 NIC
Maxtor 6Y080L0 80GB hdd
Debian Linux stable with 2.4.8 kernel

Thrakath
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:52 pm
Contact:

Post by Thrakath » Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:16 am

And what about 400@600Mhz? Succesful stories? these ones are also very cheap at ebay!maybe i get some of these in 10 pcs package and test em out...is the voltage regulator mod then necessary or is the ec10 mod enough for stable 100Mhz FSB?

jaybird
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 9:21 pm

Post by jaybird » Wed Mar 01, 2006 9:28 am

Kinda doubt it on the 400's although you might get lucky!

I'm writting this on a modified BP6 (EC10, VVT, cut traces, changed out regulators, etc.) with the largest coolers that fit on the board (GlobalWIN FEP32's) as well as a Peltier on the BX.

I've run matched and lapped sets of: 366's, 400's, 433's, 466's and 500's and guess what? Best to-date are my present 366's!

I'm running my 366's stable @ 104 FSB (572 Mhz), will go 594 and boot into windowz (some times :wink: ) at 605!

Configuration is as follows:
BP6 Ver .41 with modified RU BIOS
dual 366's @ 104 FSB
768 meg PC133 SDRAM
HPT with 1.22 BIOS and 1.28 drivers
WIN2K, SP4/WIN98SE dual-boot
20 gig, 7200rpm WD HDD on channel 3
60 gig, 7200rpm Maxtor on channel 4
PNY FX5000 dual head vid card (AGP)
WinTV GO! in PCI 1
Chaintek 7.1 sound card in PCI 2
Generic Firewire card in PCI 3 (shares IRQ with HPT366 controller)
Adaptec SCSII card for Microtek scanner in PCI 4
generic ISA NIC in ISA 2
dual power supplies: 300watt just for mobo and 450 for everything else
Lite-on 52X24X52 'burner
Sony DVD-r/RAM burner
Pioneer S104 DVD-ROM
Kenwood Multi beam 52X TrueX CD-ROM
external 56K V.92 USB modem
dual ViewSonic 21" Graphic Series monitors
Microtec X6EL scanner
HP LaserJet 5L printer
Canon i900D photo printer (USB)
Cambridge DTT2500 surround system connected to a wireless audio system that puts surround sound out to the gazebo with hot tub on the deck behind the house (need to add flat pannel tv in there :wink: )

The rest is all video related (multiple set top DVD and studio vcrs and tv monitors).

Whew! forgot I had all this stuff :) !

Regards,

jaybird

My wife thinks I have to much "junk" in my office but you can never have to many "toys" :wink:

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:36 pm

jaybird wrote:...My wife thinks I have to much "junk" in my office but you can never have to many "toys" :wink:
Maybe she has too much makeup? :lol:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests