burned component on BP6 but it still works

Batch codes, RAM specs, BIOS settings, etc..
Post Reply
TbbW
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:10 am

burned component on BP6 but it still works

Post by TbbW » Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:35 pm

hello.
my english when it comes to component names and stuff is not so good.
but i can soder ( i think it's called that in english ) is avrage so i can replace normal stuff swifly.

well first of all i'm gonna give you an little picture of what part of the mobo that is burned.

Picture:
http://img229.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... rge2rk.png

now the comp got shut off after running for about a year with linux and installed win2k on it and ran it for 3mounths then did not want to start at ALL...
so i removed all the addons connected to it exept for the gfx card ( i removed 2 network cards, 1 harddisk, 1 cdrom ).
and got the same result.
i then cleared cmos with the jumper and it started with no problems.
i then reclocked it to 500Mhz ( i got 2 cpu's of the same type that are 500Mhz ) earlyer i made it run at 560mhz or actualy i bought it like that.
so i noticed in the bios that i culd clock it at 500Mhz(66) or 500Mhz(100).
so i tryed 66Mhz and it booted up with win2k rebooting when the grafical loading screen apeared.
so i guessed it whas maby that clock speed so i tryed 500Mhz(100) but then the comp got blank like earlyer so i then resetted the cmos again and set it to 500Mhz(66) checked thru the bios and noticed pnp whas off aswell as power saving in general.
then win2k started with the message "i found new hardware"...
i just did a second check and noticed with some extra light on the motherboard that the cirkut marked on the picture whas black...
first thought whas "is it painted or something?"
then i checked it out a little bit more closly and scratched it with my finger and small peaces of the white part of the cylinder came off aswell as black burnt part... the once coppar looking part is still hard and the comp boots as it suld while on the 500Mhz(66) and i culd replace the burned part if needed.

so my question after this... ower sized description is.
what is this cirkut used for?
is it critical to change it asap?
what values and what is this cirkut named?

thank you for reading this far thru typos and spelling errors i hope you can keep in mind that english is not my primary language.

cheers! :cheers:
man my bp6 runs nice!
exept for that:
kernel: APIC error on CPU0: 02(02)
kernel: APIC error on CPU1: 08(02)

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Tue Jan 24, 2006 1:02 am

(solder)
it's a voltage regulator coil thingy
and there has been messages about un-soldering them and re-winding the wire about the coil...
with the extremes of heat they get, any little bug walking nearby would probably fry up nicely, and quickly.
though it's probably the lacquer put around the metal wire for protection.
bp6's 3 x dual @ 533
. . . . 1 x dual @ 466
. . . . 1 sngl @ 400
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.4ghz )]
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.66ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4C ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4B ghz )]
[( 1 x dual AMD 1800MP )]
[( 1 x P4 1600 )]
[( 1 x 500 ppga )]
3 x piii 866

TbbW
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:10 am

Post by TbbW » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:34 am

is there any component name/value for this thing?
coz i got a major electronic component store not to far from my house and it wuld be nice to just drop by and say "may i have what's written on the note?"

i rather pey that extra buck to get the real one instead of making one myself that may or may not short if i put one of the copper wire to close to the other :)

as it's now it makes me worry about my preshus!
the part in the middle that look white when i use the one by the atx power connector it's compleatly gray and the wiering looks like an uncleaned BBQ grill bars well i guess i'm ower paranoid but burned stuff on a mobo is most often realy... realy bad news lol :)

and culd this explain why the comp totaly locks up when i try to run it on 500mhz(100) or is it just me who needs to flash the bios to check for any bdu ( Brain Dead User )?

thank you for you'r time!
man my bp6 runs nice!
exept for that:
kernel: APIC error on CPU0: 02(02)
kernel: APIC error on CPU1: 08(02)

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:48 am

http://www.bp6.com/board/viewtopic.php? ... =wind+core
http://www.bp6.com/board/viewtopic.php? ... =wind+core

the coils would be near the caps for voltage regulation.
if they don't work, then voltages would be flaky.
you got MBM installed yet ?
but check the voltages in BIOS screen....

TbbW
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:10 am

Post by TbbW » Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:03 pm

no i dont have mbm installed.
do it need reboot to install that?
coz if it needs reboot i hafto scedule it into the game server updates.
or the "keep windows running smoth" reboot that i do once a week.

and i quick read the other links you posted.
and i dont have a stability problem during runtime.
just some problems with setting the mhz rates in the bios ( it culd also be that i dont have the "RU" bios flash i read about on the forum ).
and the burned part looks damn ughly... i never checked how hot it becomes. i just want to know what value it got so i can go into "ELFA" ( Swedish electronics store ) and ask them for that part. the rest of the stuff on the mobo looks real nice.

ps.
i dont have the stuff to mesure the value of the component or such... that's why i'm asking in the hope of anyone knowing the exact value i need.
ds.

ty :)
man my bp6 runs nice!
exept for that:
kernel: APIC error on CPU0: 02(02)
kernel: APIC error on CPU1: 08(02)

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:08 pm

TbbW,
If I understand correctly you have the board running 24/7 and it is stable.
I think you souldn't worry about that coil.(or any other componants)

If that board ever had bad capacitors and they were replaced then the coil may have over heated BEFORE THEY WERE REPLACED but now must be running just fine.

By the way, your CPUs are designed to run on FSB66 and have a multiplier of 7.5. Use the setting of 500(66) and not 500(100).

Good luck.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

TbbW
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:10 am

Post by TbbW » Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:02 am

well i asked the person that had the comp b4 me and he sead he had not replaced any components on it at all ( it's a year ago i bought it so why wuld he lie about that ).
it's just lil ol me that get paranoied of burned components...

but ty davd_bob for telling me this info.
it got me to stop checking inside the cover every 10min.

but if anyone knows the value of that component it might be nice to post here on the forum i'm kinda sure someone might need it in the future :)

Cheers davd_bob and Dave Rave!
man my bp6 runs nice!
exept for that:
kernel: APIC error on CPU0: 02(02)
kernel: APIC error on CPU1: 08(02)

TbbW
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:10 am

Post by TbbW » Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:08 pm

okey server hang after 4days of uptime.
i then where to turn it off and then start it again and i got a blank screen.

after a cmos reset it worked... so do this count as an instability issue ? :/
i mean i wont know for sure after the next 4-5days if i will hafto reset the bios and change the settings back... i also noticed 4 cirkuts directly to the right of this burned component looks slightly oval shaped ")" at the top and i know they suld be flat.

suld i still leave them be and go for a bios update?
i think im running the default bios the guy i bought it from told me he have done nothing about the bios.
man my bp6 runs nice!
exept for that:
kernel: APIC error on CPU0: 02(02)
kernel: APIC error on CPU1: 08(02)

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:29 pm

Well, it looks like you have some bad capacitors on your board. They are not doing their job and that is what is causing the coil to over heat.

Your board will be unstable and will probably get worse with more time. The capacitors have to be replaced.

David

TbbW
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:10 am

Post by TbbW » Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:57 pm

so that's the 4 components to the right of the regulator i need to replace? ( the ones that look alittle popped )
it's easy to find the values of them becaus it's written on them.
man my bp6 runs nice!
exept for that:
kernel: APIC error on CPU0: 02(02)
kernel: APIC error on CPU1: 08(02)

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Tue Jan 31, 2006 10:17 pm

Tbbw,
Check out this link. Many pics that show the problem. Many solutions to the problem.
The ABIT-RMA system has taken more then a month to send a replacement board at times.

http://www.bp6.com/board/viewtopic.php? ... highlight=

Good Luck.
David

TbbW
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:10 am

Post by TbbW » Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:34 pm

well that link you gave me seems WERRY usefull! ty!
now i can even memorize some of the english words of the components ;)
and one pic on the first link in that forum post even show one of them a little bent like mine:
http://www.burtonsys.com/bad_BP6/PA090011.JPG
but all four are bent but standing up straight.

well thank you again!
i'll take some pictures ower the mobo b4 i start to replace them it might be good to add to the libary or something :)
man my bp6 runs nice!
exept for that:
kernel: APIC error on CPU0: 02(02)
kernel: APIC error on CPU1: 08(02)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest