Abit BP6 + 1xCeleron Tualatin 1400@1484

Batch codes, RAM specs, BIOS settings, etc..
yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Abit BP6 + 1xCeleron Tualatin 1400@1484

Post by yoshihiro » Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:54 pm

1: SL64V
2: 100MHz
3: RU
4: globalwin fep32
5: 1.0
6: none
7: Linux
8: SB Live MP3+, adaptec 2940, Nvidia GeForce2 MX
9: leadership 450W PSU

Hi! It's my first post in this forum!

I had success running a celeron tualatin in my BP6. It's a dirty hack, but it works. I'm conecting a "Lin Lin" FCPGA-FCPGA2 adapter (found at ebay) on top of a neo s370 Powerleap adapter, using a 1.4Ghz tualatin processor.

I will take more photos today (boot screen, cpuinfo), but there are some photos in www.miurasan.org/tualatin already.

sorry for the bad english :)

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:58 am

WHOA!

You may the first to accomplish this endeavour! Stacking a FC-PGA2-to-FC-PGA adapter onto the PowerLeap Neo S370 adapter with a Tualatin processor on top!
Last edited by hyperspace on Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Mar 31, 2003 10:28 am

WOW!

Those have got to be the most impressive pictures I've ever seen :D It's like looking at an ice-cream sandwich made with processors!

yoshihiro: Why don't you upload those pictures to you personal gallery at BP6.Com to save yourself some bandwidth?
http://www.bp6.com/board/album.php
Click on "Your Personal Gallery" and you can upload the pictures there.

I'll be looking forward to some WinCPUID screenshots and other benchmarks.

Edit: Someone get that man a Pentium3; STAT! :biglaugh:

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Mar 31, 2003 10:42 am

Oh yes, and welcome to the registered users' list :)
-Derek

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Mon Mar 31, 2003 12:44 pm

Derek, Thank you!

I will upload the pictures to personal gallery, but first I need to take some more photos (and better quality ones)
About benchmarks: I use linux full time, I will see what I can do :)

onelegdis
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2002 6:52 pm
Location: London UK

Post by onelegdis » Mon Mar 31, 2003 1:19 pm

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Mon Mar 31, 2003 6:31 pm

yoshihiro, great news - I too have a pair the cheap $13 adapters currently selling on EBay. I just won an auction for Dual P-III/s 1.266GHz/512K Tualatin CPUs & they were shipped today. I'm also going to test them piled with the new adapter stacked on top of the Neo370.
The documentation was very weak on these as to the different jumper combos according to whether your M-B socket starts out as a PPGA or as an FCPGA. What jumper settings did you use? If I can get one Tualatin to boot like you did, I'll try to go for a Dual P-III Tualatin boot.
Do you think that the BP6 wire soldering & Neo370 trace cutting is really needed with these new adapters added?
Last edited by RRLedford on Mon Mar 31, 2003 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:13 pm

If you start running dual CPUs with all those adapters you're probably going to have to pump up the power going to the sockets in order to them running.

Heh, not to mention you’ll be sucking the BX northbridge dry :)

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:27 pm

RRLedford, I'm using the settings listed as "old intel chipset" (jumpers on A5/A6 and B8/B9).
My BP6 doesn't have any mods installed and I'm running in single mode only, because tualatin celerons doesn't allow SMP.
I don't know if it's possible to run a dual P3 tualatin on a BP6. :)

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:31 pm

Pictures uploaded to Personal Gallery:
http://www.bp6.com/board/album_personal ... er_id=1651

Thank you!

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Mar 31, 2003 10:35 pm

yoshihiro wrote:Pictures uploaded to Personal Gallery:
http://www.bp6.com/board/album_personal ... er_id=1651

Thank you!
Awsome, they look great!

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:22 am

Hi!

Derek, I will install Windows in my machine in this weekend (actually I'm running only Linux). What kind of benchmark program do you suggest?

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Wed Apr 02, 2003 3:22 pm

yoshihiro wrote:Hi!

Derek, I will install Windows in my machine in this weekend (actually I'm running only Linux). What kind of benchmark program do you suggest?
There are quite a few things we can do, but first we'll test stability. Post back when you're up and running.

HAL6000
SETI Guru
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Bloomfield, NJ U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by HAL6000 » Thu Apr 03, 2003 10:15 am

Do we know who makes these? If the are good for SMP? Also can you stack two of them instead of using the powerleap adaptor?

I wouldn't mind have dual 1.4's in my webserver ;)

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Thu Apr 03, 2003 10:26 am

HAL6000 wrote:Do we know who makes these? If the are good for SMP? Also can you stack two of them instead of using the powerleap adaptor?

I wouldn't mind have dual 1.4's in my webserver ;)
BP6.Com may start selling the required adapters in the near future. I'll make an announcement when I receive more details.

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Thu Apr 03, 2003 1:47 pm

HAL6000 wrote:Do we know who makes these? If the are good for SMP? Also can you stack two of them instead of using the powerleap adaptor?

I wouldn't mind have dual 1.4's in my webserver ;)
You can find these adaptors at www.evertek.com, although I have found mine at Ebay.

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Thu Apr 03, 2003 11:40 pm

HAL6000 wrote:Do we know who makes these? If the are good for SMP? Also can you stack two of them instead of using the powerleap adaptor?

I wouldn't mind have dual 1.4's in my webserver ;)
HAL6000, the skimpy documentation for these adapters implies that there is a mode that can be established with the jumpers that either gives PPGA-to-FCPGA2 -OR- PPGA-to-FCPGA1 mode (in addition to the FCPGA1-to-FCPGA2 mode). But no mention of what degree of SMP support they might offer for the BP6. I'm waiting for my two P-III/1.266GHz Tualatin CPUs to arrive any day now. I think it will take a lot of fooling around to see just how good these adapters can be.

HAL6000
SETI Guru
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Bloomfield, NJ U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by HAL6000 » Fri Apr 04, 2003 9:50 am

yoshihiro wrote:
HAL6000 wrote:Do we know who makes these? If the are good for SMP? Also can you stack two of them instead of using the powerleap adaptor?

I wouldn't mind have dual 1.4's in my webserver ;)
You can find these adaptors at www.evertek.com, although I have found mine at Ebay.
Wow they are cheaper on there when I found on ebay. I may have to buy a lot of 20 and sell the ones I don't need ;)

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am

Well, I can't go highter than 14*110=1540MHz.
At 124 the system aparently posts, but no video. Already tried to change the video board to a Radeon 9000, but without success :(

nicklogan
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 11:42 am

Linux benchmark

Post by nicklogan » Wed Apr 09, 2003 4:23 pm

When you boot the system try to note the "bogomips" value that appears to use as a rough comparison between this setup and and the dual celeron systems. Both my systems with celerons runing over 500 Mhz show a little over 2000 bogomips. I'd be curious how much of an increase running one 1.4 Mhz Tualatin gives.

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:35 pm

For those wondering, "bogomips":
Dictionary.Com wrote:bogomips

<unit> (From "bogus", "MIPS") The timing unit of the Linux
kernel.

A BogoMips is an unscientific measurement of processor speed
made by the Linux kernel when it boots, to calibrate an
internal busy-loop.

BogoMips MiniHowto
(http://metalab.unc.edu/LDP/HOWTO/mini/BogoMips.html).

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:32 pm

As Derek said, the number of bogomips doesn't indicate the performance of the machine, but just in case, actually my machine is showing about 3073.63 bogomips. My BP6 with 2 celerons 366@550 showed about 2200 bogomips.
Just to compare, with 2 celerons at 550, the conversion of an DivX to MPEG using transcode goes at 11 fps. With the tualeron at 1540, I've got 25 fps :)

yoshihiro
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by yoshihiro » Wed Apr 09, 2003 10:55 pm

I have just uploaded an wcpuid screenshot into my personal library.

Cep
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:41 am
Location: Australia

Post by Cep » Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:52 am

WD
BP6 1.0 + OpenBSD + HighPoint Controller Supporter (OK HERE)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest