FS: BP6 system - complete

For sale ads / Stuff wanted ads
Post Reply
bp6khan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:30 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

FS: BP6 system - complete

Post by bp6khan » Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:53 pm

Hi everyone:

I've got a really nice BP6 system I'm very hesitant to part with, I've developed something of an emotional attachment to it, but I'm getting married, and I really can't justify having 3 computers plus one incoming laptop in one small one bedroom apt, so here goes, I would love to sell it to an BP6 enthusiast, as I think it is a pretty sweet machine:

BP6 (all caps are ok,
2 matched Celeron 533Mhz processors with stock Intel fans
Promise Ultra100TX2 IDE card
512 MB PC133 SD-RAM (1 256Mb stick, 2x128Mb sticks)
Geforce3 64Mb AGP video card (visiontek)
Intel 10/100 LAN card
Western Digital 60Gb 7200 RPM (2Mb cache) IDE hard drive
Monster Sound Diamond sound card
300W Antec power supply
CD ROM drive
100Mb ZIP Drive.

If you are interested, please email me with questions and offers at

khan34 at sbcglobal dot net

I can send photos, too, if you wish.

I will sell the system as a whole, and would like to sell it to someone who will give it a good home - seriously, selling this one hurts.

I've got good feedback on ebay (check out name "craze-ums"),

thanks for looking everyone,

a. khan :cry:
3 computers, one future wife means one computer has to go ... I love you BP6...

BP6 with 2x Celeron 533s
Intel Fans
512 Mb PC133 SDRAM
Geforce3 64Mb
Intel Network Card
Monster sound
WD 60Gb hard drive
Promise Ultra 100TX2 IDE card

purrkur
Linux Guru
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by purrkur » Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:50 am

Ouch. Reading this hurts :)
2x533MHz@544MHz, 2.0V
640MB PC100 memory
Realtek RTL-8139 NIC
Maxtor 6Y080L0 80GB hdd
Debian Linux stable with 2.4.8 kernel

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Re: FS: BP6 system - complete

Post by kuun » Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:19 pm

bp6khan wrote:Hi everyone:

I've got a really nice BP6 system I'm very hesitant to part with, I've developed something of an emotional attachment to it, but I'm getting married, and I really can't justify having 3 computers plus one incoming laptop in one small one bedroom apt, so here goes, I would love to sell it to an BP6 enthusiast, as I think it is a pretty sweet machine:

BP6 (all caps are ok,
2 matched Celeron 533Mhz processors with stock Intel fans
Promise Ultra100TX2 IDE card
512 MB PC133 SD-RAM (1 256Mb stick, 2x128Mb sticks)
Geforce3 64Mb AGP video card (visiontek)
Intel 10/100 LAN card
Western Digital 60Gb 7200 RPM (2Mb cache) IDE hard drive
Monster Sound Diamond sound card
300W Antec power supply
CD ROM drive
100Mb ZIP Drive.

If you are interested, please email me with questions and offers at

khan34 at sbcglobal dot net

I can send photos, too, if you wish.

I will sell the system as a whole, and would like to sell it to someone who will give it a good home - seriously, selling this one hurts.

I've got good feedback on ebay (check out name "craze-ums"),

thanks for looking everyone,

a. khan :cry:
omg

i would put her in storage for a time being... i wouldn't let a beauty like that goto waste.

email me BadLB@hotmail.com some details (as your email isn't listed)

i currently own 2 bp6's one of which is a SCSI server and the other is in the process of being rebuilt so.

i'd love to give this beaut a good home

Kuun
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Fri Jan 14, 2005 7:26 am

I bought this one some time, ago (just before Xmas). It runs but most of the black electrolytic capacitors are bulged and the smaller coils get 70 °C hot! Windings are burnt. Thinking about trying ABIT RMA.

Sorry for not posting this sooner, Kuun. :oops:
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:27 pm

hyperspace came from under the radar on that purchase :P

Sneaky sneaky!
-Derek

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:20 pm

Derek wrote:hyperspace came from under the radar on that purchase :P

Sneaky sneaky!
Yeah, I know. :smokin: I was able to flatten the hard drive and load XP on the system that was sent to me. I fired up two SETI's and loaded MBM to monitor things. I saw the System (RT3) temperature @ 76 °C! Reached in to "sense" RT3's heat and seared my finger on one of the small coils. Two small "coil stripes". :twisted: That's when I noticed the buldging black electrolytic capacitors (thanx, dude!). Oh, well.
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:04 am

Looks like another user that only came onboard to sell something. Well at least he didn't just throw the board out.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:11 pm

hyperspace wrote: ...Thinking about trying ABIT RMA...
I signed up on ABit's RMA site this morning and got a RMA number by 1:00pm CST! :shock: Hope they have two more after this one! :peace:

Should have done this many moons ago...
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:22 pm

davd_bob wrote:Looks like another user that only came onboard to sell something. Well at least he didn't just throw the board out.
If ABit doesn't charge me, no love lose! Wonder why he does not comment on his thread? :lol:
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

harrijs
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:14 pm
Contact:

Post by harrijs » Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:34 pm

hyperspace,

Can you give me some more information about this rma procedure? obviously i am new to this forum, my bp6 crapped out on me a couple of years ago. Thank goodness I held onto it. I stumbled upon this site tonight, and started to read a little about the capacitor problem. I dug the board out and started looking and wouldn't you know that this seems to be the problem. The board will power on for like 2 secs and then shuts off. The coils need to be replaced also. I believe I can do this myself, but if Abit still has an rma on these boards and are replacing them with new ones, I would be just as happy to do that. Thanks for your input. I am sure I will have many more questions in the future.

harrijs
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:14 pm
Contact:

Post by harrijs » Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:36 pm

sorry...
Last edited by harrijs on Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

harrijs
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:14 pm
Contact:

Post by harrijs » Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:37 pm

crap, sorry....triple post for some reason :?

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Sat Feb 05, 2005 11:31 am

Welcome to BP6.com, harrijs !

Go to the WEB address listed below and create an account. Once you have done this, just follow the instructions on the WEB site.

https://rma.abit-usa.com
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

harrijs
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:14 pm
Contact:

Post by harrijs » Sat Feb 05, 2005 3:29 pm

Thanks,

I just went through all of that, I guess I will just have to wait and hear back from them. How much, generally, would I need to look at spending on this?

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:06 pm

harrijs wrote:Thanks,

I just went through all of that, I guess I will just have to wait and hear back from them. How much, generally, would I need to look at spending on this?
I got my response in about 5 hours. Not real sure about cost. So, don't quote me. :) If it's capacitors it could be free plus shipping. If you have a sales receipt, then it's all free. If it's some other problem... Don't know.
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sun Feb 06, 2005 12:02 pm

hyperspace wrote:If it's some other problem... Don't know.
If I understand correctly, other issues are $25 if they do the work however if they feel it is beyond repair they will return your board to you.
There is a BP6.com user that has a bad/broken socket on his board.?..
Abit would either charge $25 or return that one un-repaired.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

harrijs
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:14 pm
Contact:

Post by harrijs » Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:10 am

I finally recieved a reply from the RMA dept. They said that since I didn't have my original invoice, it would be $25 labor, but that they would replace it. I am going to send it in as soon as I have a chance. Will post updates here. I am excited again about this great motherboard.

harrijs
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:14 pm
Contact:

Post by harrijs » Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:02 am

I recieved an email from the RMa dept. a couple nights ago telling me to not ship yet, and they would send me a label. Yesterday I was sitting at home, and the UPS guy showed up with the label and was ready to take my BP6. I was surprised and not ready to ship, so he is coming back today. This is unbelievable. I did not know that tech companies still had this great caliber of service.

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:25 pm

harrijs wrote:I recieved an email from the RMa dept. a couple nights ago telling me to not ship yet, and they would send me a label. Yesterday I was sitting at home, and the UPS guy showed up with the label and was ready to take my BP6. I was surprised and not ready to ship, so he is coming back today. This is unbelievable. I did not know that tech companies still had this great caliber of service.
harrijs,
There is currently a "HOW TO" under construction on the whole
bad capacitorissue. In the mean time, I suspect Abit will pay for shipping both ways, and NOT charge you anything for the repair.

Abit was already supporting their customer base that had boards with bad caps and possable recent efforts agains them publicly, though totally unnecessary, has gotten the reaction that Abit even pays for UPS to pick up the boards now. I will always choose Abit products because of their behavior in an issue that every other mobo producer is hiding from.

David
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest