256 Sdram Pc133

Post Reply
Snugglebear
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 6:19 pm
Contact:

Post by Snugglebear » Sat Dec 21, 2002 4:04 pm

Sure it's not detecting half the 256MB stick and the full amount of the 128MB stick? Try the 256 stick alone; if it sees half, the stick is your problem and you need to get low density/non-double sided memory. 256MB sticks from crucuial have worked good for me so far. If the board sees the full 256, then start playing with ordering and jumping the sticks around to different slots.

BCN
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:50 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by BCN » Mon Dec 23, 2002 8:58 pm

it is NOT stick problem, it is BX chipset problem, guys! it is only 128MB max per memory bank and there are two banks per memory slot and I am sure you 256megs are singlesided and have 8 chips on ONE side.

Buy some crucial doublesided PC133 :) they have very good system selector, and you will be fine. I had the same problem, so I sold my mem to my firned and got myself doublesided.
Dual C366@550MHz 1.90V :) (History)
yet single PIII-S 512Kb L2 cache at 1400MHz@700MHz
BP6 (not modded yet)
256MB PC133 C2
GF4Ti4200-8x
Maxtor 2x60Gb - all on promise ATA133
Lite-On LTR 40125S@48125W!!!
Plus P4 system

BCN
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:50 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by BCN » Thu Dec 26, 2002 6:56 pm

Ok, thanks, for correction! i did not know that. Though Abit BP6 manual states that it recognizes 32Mx64 chips...

Anyway, crucial always has the memory modules with 16 chips :) I mean you just need to select Abit->BP6 and here you have it! :)
Dual C366@550MHz 1.90V :) (History)
yet single PIII-S 512Kb L2 cache at 1400MHz@700MHz
BP6 (not modded yet)
256MB PC133 C2
GF4Ti4200-8x
Maxtor 2x60Gb - all on promise ATA133
Lite-On LTR 40125S@48125W!!!
Plus P4 system

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests