New board..... new problems.......

Post Reply
tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

New board..... new problems.......

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:40 pm

a few days ago i got 2 dead mobos from a freind. i salvaged some parts off them and ordered a new mobo for the processor , AMD athlon XP 1800+ {socket A/462}, the mobo i got was/is a PCCHIPS M848a v5.0.


wel the thing will power up but wont post or give video {tested with my geforce4 agp and roommates ATI 9250 PCI}.im not sure if the processor is still good so im bidding on an Athlon 2000+. if that doesnt help im gonna RMA the thing as DOA.
Image

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Re: New board..... new problems.......

Post by InactiveX » Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:30 am

tenchimuyo93 wrote:the mobo i got was/is a PCCHIPS M848a v5.0.
I once diagnosed a faulty PC which had a PCchips motherboard and it was without a doubt the worst, most flakiest motherboard I have had the misfortune to work with.

Good luck fixing it!
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:36 am

well lucky for me that i really dont have to test it so to speak, seeing as i still have my 30 day in house warntey from tigerdirect and can still RMA it though pcchips but i want to save the S/H charges if i can.


and i won an Athlon 2100+ {working} with AMD retail heatsink {backup if needed} for $26.00+10.00 S/H :lol:
Image

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:55 am

soft bristle paint brush and vacuum clean the whole board
get caked dust off of it

check memory chip edges for gunk, plates should be all nice and shiny gold
make sure they are right speed
make sure seated correctly

clean cpu head, clean cpu cooler
fresh goop

ignore all that, new board, d'oh
again

got the mini speaker plugged in ?
are you getting the one strong beep at turn on post ?
cmos reset

a new board, check the cmos reset jumper
i've seen some new boards that ship with the jumper in reset position
and it has to be moved before installation

and my favourite
you're doing it wrong
figure it out and stop doing that ;-)

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:25 am

Dave Rave wrote:soft bristle paint brush and vacuum clean the whole board
get caked dust off of it
Got to pick you up on this one Dave.

Vacuum cleaners are dreadful for generating static. This is likely to kill your PC. I always use a can of compressed air to shift the dust - although it's darned expensive seeing as most people consider air to be free and a basic human right. :)

Another tip: pencil erasers are good for cleaning up the gold contacts on the memory, expansion cards etc.
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:51 am

got the mini speaker plugged in ?
are you getting the one strong beep at turn on post ?
cmos reset

a new board, check the cmos reset jumper
i've seen some new boards that ship with the jumper in reset position
and it has to be moved before installation
mini speaker has no beeps, error or otherwise


cmos was the first thing i checked before i started hooking anything up. but i have seen that to so good call reguardless.
Image

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:19 am

correct fsb for the cpu ?
it's very rare, but I've seen a faulty cpu
check cpu for miccing/broken/bent pins

is mobo new or old with jumpers ?
memory fsb set for memory installed

uhm, bring it around .... 8)

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:13 am

correct fsb for the cpu ?
it's very rare, but I've seen a faulty cpu
check cpu for miccing/broken/bent pins

is mobo new or old with jumpers ?
memory fsb set for memory installed

uhm, bring it around ....

FSB is set in bios not with jumpers {that would be to easy}

CPU looks good, all the pins are ok but i still have a Known working one coming just to be safe.
Image

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:08 pm

Hope Im not to late.
I had an early Gigabyte 462 and XP1800. It did NOT have the extra power input for the cpu. I tested a newer cpu on the board and fried it.

Make sure you don't cross technologies in testing.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:10 am

well i got the new/used processor today and gave it a try. board is alive and runs at the real world speed of the athlon xp 2100's 1.733GHz. highest temps i saw thur the bios hardware monitor was 39c {mild testing installing Winxp on a throw away drive}.



hopefully it will be a permant fixture after i get a case, PSU, video card and hard drive to go in it.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests