Bios with 150 fsb ??

Yogi_Da_Mis
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 6:49 am

Bios with 150 fsb ??

Post by Yogi_Da_Mis » Mon Aug 26, 2002 6:51 am

:roll: Hi.
I',m looking for modified RU bios that have 150FSB
Did someone can halp me??

Yogi_Da_Mis
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 6:49 am

Post by Yogi_Da_Mis » Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:16 am

:shock: I only want to buy pentium 3 on 133fsb, an i whish to try overclock them

Snugglebear
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 6:19 pm
Contact:

Post by Snugglebear » Fri Aug 30, 2002 3:13 pm

Yogi_Da_Mis wrote::shock: I only want to buy pentium 3 on 133fsb, an i whish to try overclock them
Try a different board, then. The bp6 is getting old, and only so much can be done with it.

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sat Aug 31, 2002 6:34 am

Unfortunately this is not possible, because of a limitation of the i440BX chipset used by the BP6. :(

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Sat Aug 31, 2002 6:49 pm

Yogi_Da_Mis wrote::shock: I only want to buy pentium 3 on 133fsb, an i whish to try overclock them
Yogi_Da_Mis,
Well you might consider the P-III 1.1GHz/256K/100 chips. They should easily OC to 110+ MHz FSB. You will need to get the NEO-370 adapter too. I just got (2) of the P-III 1.1GHz CPUs (used) for $125 each from an E-Bay listing. If you then do the Dual-P3 mod, you can reach ~2.5Ghz of total CPU processing power - not bad for a 3-year old mainboard design.

Yogi_Da_Mis
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 6:49 am

Post by Yogi_Da_Mis » Sun Sep 01, 2002 6:40 am

What about p3s 1.266ghz/512/133 (tulatin) ?

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Sun Sep 01, 2002 9:01 am

GRexer wrote:
fossil wrote:sorry dude....htere are only a few cases where anyone was able to get the BP6 past 124MHz. There are some who have made 133 I think...but that was with some mindbending modifications. (See "The Mod") Good luck though...If you do it, be sure to publish! :D
Hmm...... do u happen to have any links to this so called "The Mod"? I'm interested to read about it. :roll:
http://www.bp6.com/mod_1.php
Last edited by Derek on Mon Nov 25, 2002 12:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Sun Sep 01, 2002 10:53 am

Yogi_Da_Mis wrote:What about p3s 1.266ghz/512/133 (tulatin) ?
Yogi_Da_Mis,
If you start with the "only 133MHz FSB" for your CPU purchase, you will end up UNDER-CLOCKING your CPU in a BP6 system. In addition, no one seems to have solved the Tulatin (FC-PGA2) series chips being incompatible with the BP6 (including Evergreen).

Now if you use "the fastest 100Mhz FSB CPU" approach, you can still look to getting close to the 1.4GHz of a Tulatin CPU, by starting with the P3-1100E/256K/100FSB and cranking it to the max of ~124Mhz FSB.

With this plan your biggest challenge may well be just locating the CPUs.

Yogi_Da_Mis
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 6:49 am

Post by Yogi_Da_Mis » Sun Sep 01, 2002 12:25 pm

OK i see what you mean.
But i've read about that someone has modified RU bios that actualy have FSB up to 150 mhz.
And i'm looking for that bios.
Does anybody hear about something like that?? Some links??

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sun Sep 01, 2002 2:17 pm

Sorry, it's just not possible.

Like I said, this is due to the hardware limitations of the BP6, and you'll never get more than 133MHz no matter what BIOS you use.

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:33 pm

I can't even get my single CPU BP6 rig with new P-III/1100E to run past 110MHz FSB - locks up instantly as soon as I set it for 124MHz! This is with serious cooling on the CPU (EverCOOL 715 Copper/70mm fan), chipset cooling - blue orb, & major heatsink on the nvidia Geforce2/MX200/64MB card, with 80mm ducted fan blowing right down on it.
So, good luck if you are heading to the 124 FSB & beyond zone!

I'm thinking all new tantalum capacitors around the CPU sockets, and maybe even water cooling, before I'll ever see stability at 124MHz FSB.

I also can't boot if the FSB is past 98MHz - freezes at the Promise device detect stage. Can crank it faster all the way to 110MHz after WinXP Pro loads though. I'm wondering if my cards are limiting FSB speed? Adaptec USB 2.0 card, Promise ATA100, Aopen Geforce2-MX200/64M, LS120 superdisk on ATA33, Maxtor 40G/5400 on Promise card, Pioneer slot load DVD-CDROM on ATA33 2nd channel, (1) 256M PC133, SMC USB wireless LAN, Logitech USB cordless freedom KB/Mouse
Promise card in 3rd PCI slot over from AGP - is this shared w/HPT366??

Going to use the BIOS with HPT366 removed this weekend & see if more speed can be had.
Last edited by RRLedford on Sun Sep 29, 2002 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:03 pm

I thought I remembered a BIOS with the 150MHz option too? :shock:

N.B. Having the option and being able to utilize it are two completely different problems.

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sun Sep 29, 2002 1:25 pm

The i440BX chip was originally meant to be run at 100MHz. It was so good that they found it could handle 133MHz.

Running dual CPUs increases the strain on the BX, so it's harder to reach 133MHz on the BP6 running SMP procs.

Holodeck2 had 2x366s running at 733MHz (133MHz FSB) using watercooloing, TECs and ducting. He said it was not easy, and I believe him.

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Sun Sep 29, 2002 7:36 pm

InactiveX wrote:Holodeck2 had 2x366s running at 733MHz (133MHz FSB) using watercooloing, TECs and ducting. He said it was not easy, and I believe him.
It would be cool to have him back!

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Mon Sep 30, 2002 7:53 am

Help us Holodeck2, you're our only hope...

:wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Mon Sep 30, 2002 9:24 am

Who's still around than can even run @124MHz? I'd be glad to know what level of effort it takes to reach that level!!

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Sep 30, 2002 4:19 pm

RRLedford wrote:Who's still around than can even run @124MHz? I'd be glad to know what level of effort it takes to reach that level!!
With proper cooling, and the right CPUs it isn’t hard.

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Mon Sep 30, 2002 9:56 pm

Let's say my copper sink air cooled PIII/1100E@1.21Ghz single CPU runs at 89-93F.
I have a good active cooler on the chipset & Geforce2 chip.
I run rock solid at 110MHz FSB.
But I can't even operate for 1 second at 124MHz.
What's next? With the CPU this cool already, I don't see water cooling as an answer. Is the MBM5 readout of the CPU temp wrong to the low side?

Who runs water cooled & stable 124MHz now? Let's hear about it.

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:34 am

Hmmm...

I thought this was settled sometime, ago. Holodeck2 is the only one I can remember getting to 133 Mhz. If it was possible for Holodeck2 to do this, one would think that others would have accomplished similiar results. I think Yiochiro's work with the BP6 shows the limits of this mainboard. Check out this link:

http://geta.yoh-tech.com/eng_top.htm

I do have a BP6 running at 110 Mhz (dual 366) with only air-cooling. It runs 2 SETI's 24/7 under XP (SP1). Interestingly, EC10 is a 100uF. :)
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:44 am

I'm also doing fine at 110MHz FSB with Single P-III/1100E.

I have no illusions of ever getting 133MHz.

I just want to know what it took for those few who made it to 124MHz FSB?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests