Everybody I got my 2nd Celeron 500

Post Reply
InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Everybody I got my 2nd Celeron 500

Post by InactiveX » Sun Apr 27, 2003 1:50 pm

DP wrote:The game performance however seems slightly less and a bit more laggy as with one cpu.
This is somewhat normal. On apps which aren't coded for multi-threading, such as games, the extra overhead required to get the two CPUs to co-operate causes slower performance. You can boot up with only one CPU seen by adding the switch /onecpu to the end of the line which tells the computer where to find Windows in the file boot.ini.
DP wrote:B.t.w. could there be much difference between the processors in overclockability? I did not want to take out the 1st cpu out to compare serials etc. to see if they are from different batches.
Probably not much point. Just see how far you can push those babies.

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Sun Apr 27, 2003 5:22 pm

Is the CD-Burner on the HPT366?
-Derek

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:28 pm

What is the speed of the Burner?
-Derek

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Apr 28, 2003 9:37 am

If it was a HPT error, I would suggest moving the HD to the ATA33 or buy another (better) controller card.
-Derek

g0fvt
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:32 pm
Location: Hertfordshire UK

Post by g0fvt » Mon Apr 28, 2003 9:51 am

I hope you find some benefit from having the second cpu, at least it amazes your friends... I know I will be contradicted but I think you are pushing your luck running at 600 with just 1.9v . My 466s at 80Mhz (560) would definitely keel over quickly at that low a voltage, try maybe 2.1v but keep an eye on temperatures. Good Luck!

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2480
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Everybody I got my 2nd Celeron 500

Post by Derek » Mon Apr 28, 2003 10:12 am

InactiveX wrote:
DP wrote:The game performance however seems slightly less and a bit more laggy as with one cpu.
This is somewhat normal. On apps which aren't coded for multi-threading, such as games, the extra overhead required to get the two CPUs to co-operate causes slower performance.
We must petition for all games to be multi-cpu ready!! :D

To solve some lag issues: Load the game, go back to the desktop, CTRL + ATL + DEL, go to the processes tab, select the game's process and set it to use one CPU only.

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Mon Apr 28, 2003 10:16 am

my 500's would only goto 600 @ 2.1V

right now @563 they are at 1.95 if i goto 1.9 they croak and die

Kuun
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest