Internet Connection Speed

How Fast?

Dial-Up - Ie. 28.8K and higher
10
7%
High Speed - Ie. 64K ISDN and higher
2
1%
Broadband - Ie. 150K ADSL/Cable/T1
130
92%
 
Total votes: 142

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:31 pm

At home I'm with Bell (Sympatico) on their basic high speed service (20kBytes up - 200kBytes down). They now offer a package that allows for 80kBytes up and over 350kBytes down!

I'm just waiting for the right moment :) (Read: I want a deal!)

jives
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 8:43 am
Location: NE, USA
Contact:

Post by jives » Tue Apr 08, 2003 3:49 pm

@home 768k/256k
@work 1M/3M

Right now I have DSL at home about $50USD (ISP+DSL line) No limit use one Static IP. The BW is pretty well taxed with Mail server, webserver, game server(s) and general internet traffic.

Working with a local ISP about maybe a 1M/1M wireless setup, or getting RR to subsidies some of my BW needs by off loading the general Internet traffic and dedicating the DSL to servers only. Upping My DSL to the next tier would double the cost and still not be as fast as cable in this area about the same cost to have tier 1 DSL and Cable then just tier 2 DSL…unless you’re Hyperspace ;)

PDR60
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2002 11:08 pm
Location: Oakland TN
Contact:

Post by PDR60 » Mon Nov 17, 2003 10:49 pm

First Level Business class cable 3meg down 768 up

aem_kei
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:49 am
Location: Germany

Post by aem_kei » Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:09 pm

Standard 1024/128 kbit/sec ADSL over here (germany) - for about 60$/month

...my first post - YAY!

aem
numb

Holodeck2
Modder Extraordinaire
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 12:57 am
Location: Purdue University
Contact:

Post by Holodeck2 » Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:18 pm

Purdue's network on the Internet 2 backbone w00t! Super broadband doesn't even start to describe the amount of bandwidth this thing can pull. but unfortunately they cap our speed :(
yea, back from the dead

If it ain't broken, mod it until it is

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1393
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:42 pm

Holodeck2 wrote:Purdue's network on the Internet 2 backbone w00t! Super broadband doesn't even start to describe the amount of bandwidth this thing can pull. but unfortunately they cap our speed :(
The file sharer's dream; Internet 2!
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

BCN
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:50 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by BCN » Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:47 pm

256/128Kbits down/Up ADSL and it costs 39€/month!!! so the usual max you get is 20-23kBytes for download....
Dual C366@550MHz 1.90V :) (History)
yet single PIII-S 512Kb L2 cache at 1400MHz@700MHz
BP6 (not modded yet)
256MB PC133 C2
GF4Ti4200-8x
Maxtor 2x60Gb - all on promise ATA133
Lite-On LTR 40125S@48125W!!!
Plus P4 system

24seven
IRC Lurker
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:23 pm
Location: Derbyshire UK
Contact:

Post by 24seven » Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:51 pm

56k all the way lads!

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:55 pm

56Kflex
modem at home but the actual connection speed is usually reported anywhere from 22-45k.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

Holodeck2
Modder Extraordinaire
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 12:57 am
Location: Purdue University
Contact:

Post by Holodeck2 » Sat Apr 24, 2004 11:26 pm

LOL!!! 56K Flex!! OLD SCHOOL!!
back in the day....
3COM X2 all the way! err... I think they were still US robotics but eh
yea, back from the dead

If it ain't broken, mod it until it is

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1393
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:26 pm

hyperspace wrote:Alltel ADSL 1536/768 kbps

Speed is usually around 1300/660 kbps. Downloads are usually 162KB/s.

Won't tell you what it costs per month but its cheap (I work for Alltel)! :twisted: My Alltel ISP service is free. :D
Look what Alltel did to my Tier One ADSL speed...

Code: Select all

cbos#sh int wan0
wan0   ADSL Physical Port
       Line Trained
Actual Configuration:
  Overhead Framing:           3
  Trellis Coding:             Enabled
  Standard Compliance:        T1.413
  Downstream Data Rate:       3072 Kbps
  Upstream Data Rate:         384 Kbps
Looks good on paper but now the noise and attenuation on the line from the higher speed, actual reduce my download speed by a third!

Weird. Downloading a test file from Alltel's FTP site shows the same ~167K download speed I always get. Wonder if they need to re-provision the "pipe" feeding the bank of DSLAM's I am on?
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

evienna
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:45 pm
Location: netherlands
Contact:

Post by evienna » Mon Aug 22, 2005 3:45 pm

8mbit down 1 mbit up wide open no limit adsl@ 79 euro p/month in the netherlands

adsl2 is avialable 20mbit/1mbit but whats the use :)
abit bp6 2x celly 500mhz 512mb sdram
msi 694d pro 2x pIII 733mhz 1024 mb sdram
asus p4800 p4 3000@3150 mhz 1024mb ddrram

evienna
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:45 pm
Location: netherlands
Contact:

Post by evienna » Mon Aug 22, 2005 3:49 pm

8mbit down 1 mbit up wide open no limit adsl@ 79 euro p/month in the netherlands

adsl2 is avialable 20mbit/1mbit but whats the use :)
abit bp6 2x celly 500mhz 512mb sdram
msi 694d pro 2x pIII 733mhz 1024 mb sdram
asus p4800 p4 3000@3150 mhz 1024mb ddrram

Billl
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: USA

Post by Billl » Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm

Cable 4mb down, about 25k up.


billl
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests