Internet Connection Speed

How Fast?

Dial-Up - Ie. 28.8K and higher
10
7%
High Speed - Ie. 64K ISDN and higher
2
1%
Broadband - Ie. 150K ADSL/Cable/T1
130
92%
 
Total votes: 142

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Internet Connection Speed

Post by Derek » Mon Dec 30, 2002 10:12 am

At home, how are you connected to the internet?

Blueneko
aka Gabumon
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2002 12:21 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Post by Blueneko » Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:00 am

stuck with dial up 56k, no cable or dsl available in my area :( , Oh but I could get satellite, with the $300 setup and $79.95 :shock: a month which is glorified isdn connection! What a rip!!! :x :x :x :x Ill use my 56k @ home, and use the T1 @ werk for now.

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:36 pm

ciscokid454 wrote:
Vuke69 wrote:
gabumon wrote:Oh but I could get satellite
You would also have to put up with 500-1000 ms pings on a good day with SAT.
yeah, on a very good day, with no clouds, no rain, no humidity, with a perfect install, with new usb or ethernet cables, praying that there are no solar flares, or solar winds messing with the signal, and that no plains or foriegn objects get in the path between the sat and your antenna, and that your internally cabling is within the proper distance, and in spec..
sorry, I worked for starband and directpc support..
unless this was your last option, and it's snowing in hell, would I ever suggest it to anyone..
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

BCN
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:50 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Post by BCN » Fri Jan 03, 2003 9:30 pm

We have ADSL inour flat which tops at around 28kb/sec...
Dual C366@550MHz 1.90V :) (History)
yet single PIII-S 512Kb L2 cache at 1400MHz@700MHz
BP6 (not modded yet)
256MB PC133 C2
GF4Ti4200-8x
Maxtor 2x60Gb - all on promise ATA133
Lite-On LTR 40125S@48125W!!!
Plus P4 system

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:38 am

Still on tired old 56k.

I sometimes wonder whether I'd be better off with two yoghurt pots and a piece of string. :oops:

Tom_Artosorse
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 8:51 am
Location: UK
Contact:

RE: connection at home

Post by Tom_Artosorse » Sat Jan 04, 2003 1:45 pm

Running on an ADSL connection at home here - shared with my housemate over the LAN which keeps the cost down. 512 down, 256 up. Works really well. Could never go back to a 56k modem now, no way.

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sat Jan 04, 2003 2:12 pm

Tom: I'm gonna have to chat with you about ADSL options in the UK running on BeOS. We can do that on BeShare. 8)

Tom_Artosorse
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 8:51 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Tom_Artosorse » Sat Jan 04, 2003 4:51 pm

Sure no worries InactiveX - speak with ya soon fellow BeER!

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:32 pm

Looks like the majority of people are now on broadband. That’s good news!

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:14 pm

lets see,

derek you want to know what im on when im at home... well.. is that my home in ringgold GA? my home in nashville TN? my home in Hixson TN? or my home in bumf**k ringgold GA?

in order 1-4

bellsouth dialup
bellsouth dialup
bellsouth DSL
Catt.com DSL

:)

chemicall
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 3:56 pm
Location: canada
Contact:

Post by chemicall » Sun Feb 02, 2003 7:35 pm

3mbit a second down
640 kilobit a second up

$69.95 a month canadian
unlimited bandwidth and emails :)

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1393
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Wed Feb 05, 2003 8:40 pm

Alltel ADSL 1536/768 kbps

Speed is usually around 1300/660 kbps. Downloads are usually 162KB/s.

Won't tell you what it costs per month but its cheap (I work for Alltel)! :twisted: My Alltel ISP service is free. :D
Last edited by hyperspace on Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Wed Feb 05, 2003 8:51 pm

hyperspace wrote:Alltel ADSL 1536K/768K

Speed is usually around 1300K/660K.

Won't tell you what it costs per month but its cheap (I work for Alltel)! :twisted: My Alltel ISP service is free. :D
Kilo bytes!?

That is insane!!!

Slagathor
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:21 am
Location: Merrill Wisconsin

Post by Slagathor » Wed Feb 05, 2003 10:11 pm

Charter Cable here.......
768 down 128 up

But I download around 100-130 k/sec and up load around 20 k/sec
Image
DFI 790FX-M2R
AMD Phenom 9850BE
2x2gb Mushkin Redline@1066 5-5-5-16
2x 250GB WD 16mb SATA Raid 0
eVGA 8800GTS SC
Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty

Zenbog][
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 10:11 am
Location: MS,USA
Contact:

Post by Zenbog][ » Wed Mar 12, 2003 11:56 pm

RoadRunner Cable Here
2060k down
350k up

and really happy DSL never made it (768k/128k)
Zenbog][
Image
GMC Zenbog's Giant Maps Server[PURE]
an UnrealTournament Server

larryj62
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 10:55 am
Location: NY

Post by larryj62 » Thu Mar 13, 2003 7:56 pm

Roadrunner also, 2.5 mbit down, 384 Kbit up is advertised, I've seen as high as 800 KB/sec in bursts when hitting 6 news-servers at once, and sustained of 300-440 KB.

Hope everyone has tried Broadband Wizard or something similiar, just let it adjust RWIN,MTU, etc...don't need to keep, just keep the settings... :D

g0fvt
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:32 pm
Location: Hertfordshire UK

Post by g0fvt » Thu Mar 27, 2003 6:17 pm

I am in Hertfordshire UK, using Pipex ADSL for my LAN, 512k/256k, unlimited upload/download at the moment and cheaper than most UK adsl solutions. Very happy indeed with it, good value for money.

nullshark
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:14 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

Post by nullshark » Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:27 pm

Shaw cable
3500~4500 kbit down
350~450 kbit up
On a torpedo to Hell
ASRock 939 Dual Sata II mobo--2x 2200+--2GB RAM--ATI x800XL--2x Seagate Cheetah 15K.3s on LSI 20160 HBA--WD 400GB Caviar RE2, Maxtor 300GB, 3x Maxtor 120+ GB = 1.1TB storage--Sony Dru-820A DVDRW--Diamond Xtreme 7.1 sound--Win XP

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests