BP6 Mobo

Do you own a BP6 motherboard?

Yes
108
98%
No
2
2%
 
Total votes: 110

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

BP6 Mobo

Post by Derek » Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:38 am

Do you own a BP6 motherboard?

Well? Do ya? Punk!
-Derek

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:55 pm

What's a BP6 motherboard?
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Mon Dec 18, 2006 10:04 pm

Honestly, I was going to add that option to the poll :P At the last minute I decided against it.
-Derek

headseed
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 5:45 pm

Post by headseed » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:06 am

Yes, the question is, how many? LOL
wow, my sig is badly outdated :oops:
Last edited by headseed on Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dual Barton Mobile 1.8ghz
Venice 3000+ @ 2.6ghz
lots of BP6s and two VP6s all apart currently

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:10 am

headseed wrote:Yes, the question is, how many? LOL
Ooooo... Good point.

Can you believe that I only have one? It has never failed me! Ever!
-Derek

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:12 am

one
hmmm
u velly sad man
bp6's 3 x dual @ 533
. . . . 1 x dual @ 466
. . . . 1 sngl @ 400
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.4ghz )]
[( 2 x dual xeon 2.66ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4C ghz )]
[( 1 x 2.4B ghz )]
[( 1 x dual AMD 1800MP )]
[( 1 x P4 1600 )]
[( 1 x 500 ppga )]
3 x piii 866

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:23 pm

I bought my BP6 in 1999.

They sent me two by accident, but I sent one back. I'm too honest for my own good.

The one I kept is still working like a champ.
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:39 pm

In a slowly evolving and upgrading forest of about 80 servers, my employer is still using a 486 for our email server. :shock: Thankfully we have locally hosted profiles and a peer to peer network. I thought about turning them on to used BP6s, but....

Hey, I will ask if they have any and I can trade something more-better for any they have. :lol:


BTW, I am using FireFox for the first time as my main browser. So far I don't dislike it. I noticed my mouse wheel doesn't scroll the page though and most objects are loading slower then IE6.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:02 am

BP6? whats this BP6 you speak of?

new lingo these kids use nowadays...................


but i have just my one, and just recently got my hands on an old DELL P3 board.
Image

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Thu Dec 21, 2006 3:54 am

davd_bob wrote:BTW, I am using FireFox for the first time as my main browser. So far I don't dislike it. I noticed my mouse wheel doesn't scroll the page though and most objects are loading slower then IE6.
Have you had any problems with CPU going to 100% when you have lots of tabs open, and everything grinds to a halt after about an hour's use? It was noticeable with FF v1.5, but became unbearable for me with v2.0. I've since switched to Opera and am really enjoying using it. This is on Windows XP.

Incidentally, my scroll wheel has always worked in FF.
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

apw6270
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:34 am

Post by apw6270 » Sat Dec 23, 2006 8:16 pm

I've owned and used a BP6 since 1999. I'm using it right now.

It's a bit poorly though. It doesn't shut down properly (I have to hold in the on/off button), and sometimes it doesn't power up - I have to take everything out and replace it all piece by piece.

Some of the capacitors look like they're standing on stalks (overheated and popped?).

Strangly, it seems faster that most other PC's I know, even those with more memory and faster modern processors.

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:18 pm

apw6270,
You discribe the clasic "bad capicator" issue that is muchly discussed. You can restore the board to full operational ability by replacing the caps. If you can do it yourself then I recomend getting free replacements from Jackson. They fit and are the right kind of caps.

Heres a link to kind of guide yourself through the choices.
http://www.bp6.com/board/viewtopic.php? ... highlight=
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:07 am

((((((

I wanna know why he's had a BP6 since 1999
but has only been a member since early 2005

and this is his first post !!!!!!
very poor form by a BP6 user standard


))))))
( enuff brackets ? )

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:34 am

Dave Rave wrote:((((((

I wanna know why he's had a BP6 since 1999
but has only been a member since early 2005

and this is his first post !!!!!!
very poor form by a BP6 user standard


))))))
( enuff brackets ? )
Who knows? Maybe he was around in '99 and had to re-register?

I'm such a killjoy, eh, Dave?
-Derek

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:34 am

I almost forgot!



(((((((((((((((((((


)))))))))))))))))))
-Derek

apw6270
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:34 am

Post by apw6270 » Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:48 pm

Who knows? Maybe he was around in '99 and had to re-register?
Indeed Derek, I was and I did.

An anonymous email of mine was one of the first on this site, and is in fact still on this site as a piece of advice, so perhaps Dave should learn to control his tongue.

Thanks for the link dave_bob. My mobo is rev 1.0 and does not appear to suffer poor voltage stabilisation, but a number of the capacitors clearly need to be replaced. Non of them show signs of leaking electrolyte, rather they are just bulging like crazy.

I found a web site from this site that sells a BP6 capacitor pack, but they only ship to the USA and Canada – I’m in the UK. I’ve been trying to source my own caps but haven’t yet found an appropriate supplier. There is a Maplin just 10 minutes from me but they don’t appear to sell the appropriate caps. Another problem is that there appears to be a difference of opinion as to what values to use. Perhaps I should just replace them like-for-like.

Either way, I've got lots of reading to do.

I’ll let you know what eventually happens.

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:40 am

apw6270 wrote:
Who knows? Maybe he was around in '99 and had to re-register?
Indeed Derek, I was and I did.

An anonymous email of mine was one of the first on this site, and is in fact still on this site as a piece of advice, so perhaps Dave should learn to control his tongue.
tehe, that'll never happen :lol: :twisted: 8) :screwy: :rude:

apw6270
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:34 am

Post by apw6270 » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:17 am

Here's the latest.


badcaps.net suggest the following caps:

12 x 1500uF 10v
12 x 1000uF 10v
1 x 470uF 16v


motherboardrepair.com seem to suggest all 1500uF


One BP6 user seems to have used the following:

12 x 2200uF 10V
12 x 1000uF 16V


The main caps on my BP6 are:

12 x 1500uF 6.3v
12 x 1000uF 10v


There is discrepancy also about the EC10 cap: "The 1200uF cap is for the EC10 mod. Some swear by 1500uF, and others swear by 470uF... I've tried them all, and have found that 1200uF or 1000uF is the most adequate."


I emailed Abit UK late last night to ask if they could supply the caps or suggest a source. They replied this morning asking me for a stamped jiffy bag and a list of caps and they will send me the caps for free! Top customer support Abit! Fantastic! :D

So the simple question is what should I ask for? Unless someone (other than Dave Slave) suggests otherwise, I figure I need the following:

12 x 1500uF 6.3v
13 x 1000uF 10v

apw6270
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:34 am

Post by apw6270 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:39 am

The caps arrived this morning. All are exactly as specified - capacitance, voltage, physical size. All are gold and green with short leads.

Looks like I've got some soldering to do this evening! Wish me luck ol' chaps, I'm going in.
BP6 V1.0 (1999)
2 x 500MHz Celeron (Mendocino) @ 600MHz = 1.2 GHz since day one.

tenchimuyo93
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: currently Lockhart TX
Contact:

Post by tenchimuyo93 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:17 am

good luck, im still waiting on mine to show up before my slowing fading caps go out completely.
Image

apw6270
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:34 am

Post by apw6270 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:37 pm

WAHOO! Back again!

Mobo still works (obviously) after replacing 24 caps!

I decided not to replace the EC10 cap since my mobo is rev 1.0 not 1.1.

I found that cap EC11 was loose – the negative lead was not soldered properly and so the cap was free to move!

I didn’t have any major problems during the work, but things didn’t go entirely as expected:

Capacitor removal
I had difficulty in melting the solder on some of the caps because they had a very small amount of solder around the legs. Perhaps my iron wasn’t powerful enough to transfer heat via the legs or perhaps a smaller bit would have helped.

Hole clearing
I had trouble cleaning the solder from the holes. I used a de-solder pump as advised, but solder remained. I had no option but to drill out the solder using a 0.8mm drill bit. A WORD OF WARNING – small studs are used to which the solder makes electrical contact and these MUST NOT BE DRILLED OUT. The drill bit used was smaller than the studs so some solder was left in. I vacuumed the mobo afterwards to remove all traces of solder burr.

Capacitor soldering
I used sellotape to hold the caps in place until they had been soldered. I had to use more solder than was removed, and the result was a small bubble of solder around each leg rather than a tiny concave meniscus. This is fine so long as the solder is not a big bubble that extends onto nearby tracks.


Once I had finished, I decided to first boot using only one CPU, one stick of memory, no HDs or CDs, no adapters except VGA, and boot to floppy. All was fine so I then installed everything.

One of first thing I noticed was the group of four caps near the CPUs are now no longer running red hot – no really, I once burnt my finger on them!

A big thanks to Abit for supplying the caps.
BP6 V1.0 (1999)
2 x 500MHz Celeron (Mendocino) @ 600MHz = 1.2 GHz since day one.

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:18 pm

Good work apw6270! The BP6 lives.

Hmmmmm. "Meniscus". I like that word. Must use it more often.
Like BP6.com? Not a member?
Then why the hell not? It's great!
-> BP6.com Membership <-

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:34 am

InactiveX wrote:Good work apw6270! The BP6 lives.

Hmmmmm. "Meniscus". I like that word. Must use it more often.
OK, did I miss something?




apw6270,
Sorry but I was offline since last year.
You got the right caps IMO and sounds like you did good enough work on the soldering. Let us know how things work out. The biggest thing I noticed after replacing both "4 pack" cap groups was my system temp dropped in a BIG way.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

apw6270
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:34 am

Post by apw6270 » Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:32 am

Thanks InactiveX.

Yep, davd_bob, my system temp is down by 15-20 deg C.

I'm usually good at soldering so I dunno why this soldering wasn't better. Perhaps it was the very small contact area, perhaps poor solder, perhaps an under powered iron, or perhaps I was subconsciously timid with the solder and/or iron.

All caps are now running at a reasonable temperature, and none are bulging or standing at an odd angle. In fact my BP6 looks quite pretty again.

Everything is still working fine, as is evidenced by this post.

I hope this gives others the confidence to make the change.
BP6 V1.0 (1999)
2 x 500MHz Celeron (Mendocino) @ 600MHz = 1.2 GHz since day one.

apw6270
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:34 am

Post by apw6270 » Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:39 am

I've just noticed that both CPUs are running within 2 deg C of each other rather than 10 deg C as before.
BP6 V1.0 (1999)
2 x 500MHz Celeron (Mendocino) @ 600MHz = 1.2 GHz since day one.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest