Seti is out there ?!

Team Stats :: http://setiweb.ssl.berkeley.edu/team_di ... amid=30229

Moderator: HAL6000

Post Reply
maar
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 2:31 pm
Location: Sweden

Seti is out there ?!

Post by maar » Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:37 am

WOW ,

seti@home finally made it to one of the major swedish newspapers.

see link:

http://www.dn.se/DNet/jsp/polopoly.jsp? ... nderType=2

its a spinoff of the articale in New Scientist, but its still kinda cool.

BTW , I will hit 10.000 wu tonite.....

Guess I'll have to celebrate......

Cheers

/Maar

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:09 pm

maar wrote:WOW ,

seti@home finally made it to one of the major swedish newspapers.

see link:

http://www.dn.se/DNet/jsp/polopoly.jsp? ... nderType=2

its a spinoff of the articale in New Scientist, but its still kinda cool.

BTW , I will hit 10.000 wu tonite.....

Guess I'll have to celebrate......

Cheers

/Maar
You'll have to translate that article for those of us who don't speak Swedish :)

Congratulations on your 10,000th work unit. What machines do you have running SETI?
-Derek

maar
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 2:31 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by maar » Fri Sep 03, 2004 3:09 pm

Derek wrote:You'll have to translate that article for those of us who don't speak Swedish :)

Congratulations on your 10,000th work unit. What machines do you have running SETI?
That's a rather lengthy article , and I do not think babelfish does swedish just yet, so the translation will take some time. :-(

I'm running seti@home on 4 boxes right now:

1: P4@2.53Ghz Linux (Fedora)

2: AMD 2100+ Linux (Gentoo)

3: Amd 2500+(Barton) OC to 3200+ WinXP

4: Amd 2600+(Barton) OC to 3200++ Winxp

SKÅL !

/M

24seven
IRC Lurker
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:23 pm
Location: Derbyshire UK
Contact:

Post by 24seven » Fri Sep 03, 2004 6:56 pm

It was a false alarm.

They did find some interesting signals, but didn’t know if they were noise or computing errors or not. The press blew it out of all proportion though.

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Thu Sep 09, 2004 2:03 am

Who needs SETI, I read the Inquirer
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

purrkur
Linux Guru
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by purrkur » Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:04 am

davd_bob wrote:Who needs SETI, I read the Inquirer
Hehehe! Good one Davd_bob! I have never understood the fascination with running SETI. It means that you stress your system to the max for an extended period, making it draw more current than ever for what reason??

Hell, I'll compile kernels continuously before I run SETI. At least I can use the result of that :)

I guess I am setting myself up for being flamed :)
2x533MHz@544MHz, 2.0V
640MB PC100 memory
Realtek RTL-8139 NIC
Maxtor 6Y080L0 80GB hdd
Debian Linux stable with 2.4.8 kernel

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Thu Sep 09, 2004 5:51 am

purrkur wrote:
davd_bob wrote:Who needs SETI, I read the Inquirer
Hehehe! Good one Davd_bob! I have never understood the fascination with running SETI. It means that you stress your system to the max for an extended period, making it draw more current than ever for what reason??

Hell, I'll compile kernels continuously before I run SETI. At least I can use the result of that :)

I guess I am setting myself up for being flamed :)
HEHEHEHE
Probably.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest