Anyone here running SETI on a P4 with HT with WinXP?

Team Stats :: http://setiweb.ssl.berkeley.edu/team_di ... amid=30229

Moderator: HAL6000

Post Reply
Billl
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: USA

Anyone here running SETI on a P4 with HT with WinXP?

Post by Billl » Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:19 pm

I'm building a new box here and I'm wondering how exactly I can run two processes simultaneously :?: I'd like to know exactly how you set it up :?: I use SETI Driver and SETI Spy to monitor my progress. I'm wondering if that is more efficient than just running one process faster :?: I'll be using XP Pro for my OS :coolman: The new box will be a ABit IC7-G, P4 2.8C, 1 GIG of OCZ PC3700 Revision 2.0 Gold. Hoping to get in to the 3.2 - 3.5 GHZ range once it's OC'ed :thumbs: Anyone running a rig similar to this :umm: I'd like to know what kind of work unit times your getting with and without HT enabled :bounce:


Billl

24seven
IRC Lurker
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:23 pm
Location: Derbyshire UK
Contact:

Post by 24seven » Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:57 pm

Hmm I'm running a dual xeon machine with HT.
To run more than one process you have to put the seti executables into separate directories, mine were setup something like this:
c:\seti\cpu0
c:\seti\cpu1
etc..
Then I registered one client, but didn’t download any work units, then just copied it to the other directories, used setispy to monitor them, setigate for cache and a batch file to load it all.

I found it was more efficient to run two processes per cpu, so four in total for me.

I’ve forgotten the exact times I was getting.
But with two per cpu it took maybe an hour longer to complete the work units, but in that time you get two done.

Once you get your machine just try a few days doing each, then do the figures.

Not sure on what times you should get, but a very rough guess would be about 3-4 hours I think, but I could be completely wrong there, but I’m sure some else will know.

uallas5
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 10:09 am
Location: Watertown, MA

Post by uallas5 » Thu Apr 08, 2004 7:31 am

Bill,
If you're using SetiDriver and HT, you don't need to do anything. SetiDriver will pick up the HT and load 2 processes of the client automatically. You can change it if you want, but it's been fine with me. Setispy should record the outgoing units fine as well. I ran this setup on a P4 3Ghz I was building for a customer and Setispy said it was putting out 14 units a day! :D
I'm putting a 2.8 HT together today, though I don't think I'll bother with SetiSpy this time, was just curious before.
"I Know Good From Bad and Where to Get the Refill" - Mr. Harding.

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:27 am

Name - - - RPD - RY - AvgCPU - - Mem - SetiSpys
sah-24b - 06.92 - 07 - 3h29m - 0512Mb - 1
sah-24c - 11.61 - 11 - 4h09m - 0256Mb - 2
sah-24x - 16.61 - 16 - 4h20m - 1024Mb - 3

24b 2.4@533 512Mb
24c 2.4@800 256Mb
24x 2.4@533 dual xeon 1024mb
all have 512kb L2 cache

note, HT works like bp6 dual, you get more RPD but they are slower.
this is why the dual xeon (4 cpu) is only doing 3 seti at a time.
if it did 4, it would still be only 17 wus a day.

[dratted text formatting.]

24seven
IRC Lurker
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:23 pm
Location: Derbyshire UK
Contact:

Post by 24seven » Thu Apr 08, 2004 11:28 am

I think used to get aout 21-23 workunits a day with my dual xeon running HT with one seti client per process.

Dont remember what I got perday without, all I remember is that with HT gave me more per day, hense I used it.

How comes you are only running 3 seti's?

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Thu Apr 08, 2004 7:47 pm

how come.....
as stated, more setispy = more seti
equals slower per wu times

1 seti = 3.5 hours
2 seti = 4 hrs
3 seti = 4.3 hours
just over 4 hours is just under 6 wus/day or 3 * 6 = 18 less a bit = 16.61
4 seti = 5 hours
is just under 5 wus / day or 4 * 5 = 20
take of a bit more for bad math and you get , hmmm, maybe 17
no point working it harder for no gain in RPD

24seven
IRC Lurker
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:23 pm
Location: Derbyshire UK
Contact:

Post by 24seven » Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:03 pm

Using your figures for the times per work unit I get the following results for the number of units per day:

1 seti = 3.5 hours per unit,
So in 24hours you will do,
24 / 3.5 = 6.86 units per day

2 seti's = 4 hours per unit,
So in 24hours you will do,
24 / 4 = 6 * no. of seti's so,
6 * 2 = 12 units per day

3 seti's = 4.3 hours per unit,
24 / 4.3 = 5.58 * no. of seti's so,
5.58 * 3 = 16.7 units per day

4 srti's = 5 hours per unit,
24 / 5 = 4.8 * no. of seti's so,
4.8 * 4 = 19.2 units per day.

Showing that it’s far more efficient to run 4 instances of seti, or use all cpu's logical or physical.

Looking back at what you say about what you get at the moment when running 3 instances of seti, 16 units per day you said, my calculations are not very far out at all, as I got 16.7, which of course dosent take into acount seti getting less cpu time when you are using the computer.

If what you are wanting is less units but with a quicker average time, then you might as well just run 1 instance of seti.

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:38 pm

im currently pro AMD

i prefer the "more bang for buck" and AMD cpu's are also well known for overclocking abilities
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

Billl
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: USA

Post by Billl » Fri Apr 16, 2004 2:27 am

I'm pro Intel and at this point Kuun, I'm kicking ass :rude: LOL :biglaugh: Anyway thanks for all the replies. As you can see if your watching the stats page at all I've iincreased my output a bit :tap: For the record the Intel boxes with HT enabled blow the AMD right out of the water. My AMD 2800 is doing 9 - 10 wu's a day. The slowest of the two new boxes P4 2.8C at 3.1 gig is doing 16 -18. The faster one P4 2.8C at 3.3 gig is doing 17 - 19 :smokin:


Billl

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest