144MB Cache

Team Stats :: http://setiweb.ssl.berkeley.edu/team_di ... amid=30229

Moderator: HAL6000

Post Reply
uallas5
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 10:09 am
Location: Watertown, MA

144MB Cache

Post by uallas5 » Fri Oct 24, 2003 3:52 pm

Now THIS is one serious processor.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12145

full article here:

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12217
"I Know Good From Bad and Where to Get the Refill" - Mr. Harding.

HAL6000
SETI Guru
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Bloomfield, NJ U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by HAL6000 » Fri Oct 24, 2003 6:49 pm

"While not as big as a 450 mm2 Itanium2 Madison"

Holy crap! :shock:

If you had 8 of those for a 64 way machien that would be 1152mb of cache. Now the question is can you load the OS directly into the cache? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Re: 144MB Cache

Post by hyperspace » Sat Oct 25, 2003 8:03 am

uallas5 wrote:Now THIS is one serious processor.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12145

full article here:

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12217
The Future is right around the corner...

MultiCore could usher in an era of computing that is beyond current Geek dreaming. :smokin:
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Sat Oct 25, 2003 10:28 am

I wonder if we could mod the BP6 to take two of those.
:D :D :D :D :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

the_flames
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Post by the_flames » Sat Oct 25, 2003 10:58 am

I think it would take someone with great knowlage of the chip and the BP6 ... and a lot of luck


it may be just out of reach of the bp6 :P

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Sat Oct 25, 2003 1:14 pm

mmmmmm

i want i want i want..

i bet if someone was determined enough they could make it work.... but how much would it cost i nthe process?
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

HAL6000
SETI Guru
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Bloomfield, NJ U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: 144MB Cache

Post by HAL6000 » Sat Oct 25, 2003 1:44 pm

hyperspace wrote: The Future is right around the corner...

MultiCore could usher in an era of computing that is beyond current Geek dreaming. :smokin:
I have a dream and in it this would mearly be part of my video card :devil:

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Sun Oct 26, 2003 1:14 am

hahahahahaha

thats.... like insanity :P
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest