What's the smallest case possible?

Cool cases? Different resistors? More airflow? Show us...
Post Reply
toyokogyo12aturbo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 2:06 pm
Location: TN
Contact:

What's the smallest case possible?

Post by toyokogyo12aturbo » Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:28 pm

I've got enough parts to build another system with the exception of the case. I decided to build one for my garage. Som I'm mainly looking for Small and a 5.25" bay for a CD. Any suggestions? Cheap is good also.

Thanks. :)
Shaun
Image

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Thu Apr 08, 2004 7:40 pm

hey\

why not make what i call a frank

no case.. you just have the motherboard on a piece of antistatic plastic.. and have it sit o nthe PSU cdrom and hdd ?

i had a machine doing that... it got the best uptime of all my machines... 6 weeks solid running win2K doing seti 24/7


Kuun
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Thu Apr 08, 2004 8:29 pm

toyokogyo12aturbo

nice car pic.
welcome to BP6

I did like kuun on more then one machine. However, it works only if the people that enter the space where the unit is don't care.

Or in my case a burgler. He stole the $10 monochrome monitor but left the $500 '386 loaded with 1meg ram and 2-20 meg hard drives and colorful wires going everywhere. It was years ago kuun so don't laugh at the price. A used 2400 baud modem was $125 then.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

toyokogyo12aturbo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 2:06 pm
Location: TN
Contact:

Post by toyokogyo12aturbo » Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:37 pm

That sound's cool. Where could I get some antistatic plastic? Do you have any pics or other tips.

As for the car, It has character, but not much more now. This is it now.
Image
I'm building a Lotus Super 7 from scratch and this miata. Obviously I already took all the parts I need and could sell. $25 takes what's left. You pick it up. :lol:
Shaun
Image

bluliz
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:46 am
Location: south of england
Contact:

Post by bluliz » Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:32 pm

i have seen a computer with a cdrom that had been put isside the retail box for windows xp, pretty cool the bloke made a metal tray for it, he couldn't get the psu in though

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:32 pm

well

i used to have a bunch of the antistatic plastic laying around til i cleaned house a few motnhs ago.

i used a piece from my last mobo i purchased my ECS almsot a yeara go. don't use regular plastic or grocery bag plastic. those are VERY staticy..

you might stop by some small pc shop and see if they have any laying around..

OR

just situate the mobo on a wooden surface and lay the psu+cdrom/hdd out to the sides

thats what im doing with the seti stack im building


davd, hehe i believe you, my first pc was a magnavox headstart 286 with a whopping 512K ram and a massive 40MB harddrive

back then that was almsot $1000


Kuun
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sat Apr 10, 2004 1:08 pm

kuun,
what could you have POSSABLY need 40 megs for on that rig. your friends must have all drooled.
you must have been...what...10 or 12 years old.

'turbo,
i put my first rig in a drawer(wooden).
8088 with 128k of ram. no hd.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Sat Apr 10, 2004 2:46 pm

i was 4 years of age in 1988

and 40MB.. erm .. well.. we had geoworks.. and my grandfather was a game fanatic lol
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sat Apr 10, 2004 7:35 pm

GEOWORKS YEA

my first exposure to tetris
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

headseed
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 5:45 pm

Post by headseed » Sat Apr 10, 2004 10:23 pm

I had a 20MB on my 286, and believe me, it filled up plenty fast if you liked to download. I remember getting my US Robotics dual standard modem, of course I got it after I downloaded 7 3.5" **unnamed** operating system disks (still have the 7 3.5" somewhere). I couldn't believe what a difference 2400 ->19200 made. But every time I wanted to install a game I had to make room on the harddrive.

I used to play Alone in the Dark, and that was supposed to be 386 only. Cool game, but it was OMGXBOXHUGE at the time.
Dual Barton Mobile 1.8ghz
Venice 3000+ @ 2.6ghz
lots of BP6s and two VP6s all apart currently

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:36 pm

'seed,
that download must have taken HOURS. from a BBS too.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Mon Apr 12, 2004 6:55 am

will this be small enuff for you ?

http://www.casemodgod.com/kitchen_toaster_pc.htm

The Doctor
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 3:50 am
Location: Good old Blighty

Post by The Doctor » Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:49 am

I'm also after a tiny case, and a naked PC is sadly not an option. Anyone got any ideas?
To help those who deserve it, to knock sense into those who ask for it, to punish those who demand it. To fool those who are fools, to confuse those who are confused, to right those who are righteous, and to generally be a pain in the neck to all...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests